How to Master Any New Skill

6 Lessons on Learning to Learn from Naval Ravikant, Richard Feynman, and Robert Greene

Mike Fishbein
Startup Grind
Published in
8 min readJul 31, 2018

--

The Internet provides millions of people with access to education. Access to knowledge is no longer a competitive advantage in today’s economy. Information is abundant.

As the world evolves at an ever-increasing pace, common skills becomes obsolete and new opportunities are created all the time. Technologists are automating personal finance and investing. Cryptocurrency is now a sizable industry with meaningful business and career opportunities.

In this environment, the ability to learn new skills quickly is scarce and valuable.

I have pivoted my career from finance to marketing. Started businesses ranging from a tech startup to a marketing agency. As many entrepreneurs do, I’m always launching side hustles — from selling stuff on eBay to growing my blog into a profitable business.

Along the way, I’ve had to learn many new skills ranging from standup comedy to poker. I’ve called it, “honing my “meta-skill-set” of learning.” Here are six strategies that have helped me learn each new skill.

1. Choose wisely.

--

--