Take Pleasure In All Forms of Knowledge

Growing up, I was never interested in anatomy. The school system told me to study it, but I didn’t want to learn how the human body worked.

Nathan Baschez
Startup Grind

--

I felt the same way about chemistry, biology, math, literature, and pretty much every subject (other than politics and history).

Now, I see how foolish my old way of thinking was. I have completely reversed my point of view. These days, I do my best to cultivate a genuine passion for every form of knowledge. And my life is so much better because of it.

How does the human heart work? Why do atoms bind together to form molecules? When did fish evolve legs and start to walk on land? Is it possible that some infinities could be larger than other infinities? What makes people fall in love? I’m not sure.

The world is full of mysteries. Sometimes we can catch a glimpse of the truth, but it’s incredibly slippery. We forget things. The data is incomplete. Our analysis is wrong.

The older I get, the more I value that feeling of catching a glimpse. It doesn’t really matter what the topic is.

I just want to learn everything I can before I die and my brain becomes dust.

--

--