Photo via Unsplash

School Isn’t Uber And Never Should Be

School Systems in Crisis by Shanna Peeples for Startup Grind

Published in
7 min readApr 1, 2017

--

My dad was an oil and gas equipment salesman for most of his life. He raised the four of us in a refinery town where the town’s fortunes rose and fell with oil and gas prices.

Draining Public Money

Growing up in a boom/bust cycle imprinted itself on me, giving me a visceral sense of capitalism and business before I could intellectually understand ideas like profit/loss and return on investment, or fixed and variable costs.

So when I see yet another argument for draining public money from public schools, I feel like I’m standing in the middle of the boarded-up Main Street of my home town. All that looked so solid when I lived there decades ago is dust and plywood now.

Except my high school. My high school looks the same and is still vibrant. That’s what comes of investing in a public good.

No one who grew up there ever heard any wooly-headed liberal phraseology like “public good,” mind you. A billboard with the John Birch Society’s message to “Get the U.S. Out of the GODLESS U.N!” greeted drivers on their…

--

--

Ed. Professor | Harvard Ed.L.D. | 2015 National Teacher of the Year