SGWomen: Females of the Future

The Startup Grind Team
Startup Grind
7 min readJun 28, 2021

--

By Abigail Holt

Each year, Startup Grind highlights #SGWomen, an initiative we started 8-years ago to acknowledge the profound impact of our female contributors both within Startup Grind and beyond. From a statistical standpoint, the discontinuity between women and men working in tech is outstanding. Women-led tech companies have received a mere $1.9 billion in funding last year (about two percent). While this figure may seem like a substantial investment, it is quite minor compared to the $66.9 billion invested in companies with all-male founders.

Here at Startup Grind, we think it’s important to provide female founders and contributors the opportunity to reflect with a raw, unfiltered voice of their very own. Together we’re reshaping what the tech industry looks like.

Recently, I was able to catch up with two of our cherished leaders from Startup Grind and Bevy. Neda Morrar and Tessa Colich are the epitome of our mission- influential, compelling, passionate, and above all, graceful, kind, and community-centered in everything they do.

Neda Morrar, VP of Development and Strategy at Bevy and Startup Grind (“sister companies”), is the true definition of a “Jackie of all trades.” Neda, a University of California Berkeley alum, recipient of an MBA, as well as holder of a law degree. Formerly working in telecom, Neda is so much more than her resume; she is a mother, risk-taker, and a versatile and valued member of our community.

Tessa Colich, VP of Global Customer Success at Bevy, is a shining example of a powerful woman in tech. Tessa, also a University of California Berkeley alum, has been growing within the tech world for over 30 years. She is a million things all rolled into one, an eternal optimist, a powerhouse, advocate for women, a leader, and a hard worker that isn’t afraid to take the bull by the horns.

Discussing the discourse of intricacies of a woman in tech and the startup world, I knew off the bat that Neda and Tessa would provide incredible insight. One of the first questions I asked each of them was, what is the biggest obstacle you have faced as a woman in tech?

Neda: As a mom, I feel like a work-life balance has never really been accomplished because I love my work so much. I could work from 8 am to 10 pm without many breaks, but now with my son Noah, I have to be good at finding the right balance. I actually have to force myself to balance it- it’s no longer a choice. I don’t necessarily think I’ve faced too many obstacles as a woman working in tech. Though working with different time zones, I’ve had to block out times so I may be the best parent to my son.

Tessa: Women are still such a minority in the tech space, it’s changed of course, and I feel very fortunate to have worked with so many companies that care about inclusivity. The companies I’ve worked for have prioritized diversity, and that’s so important. However, I’ve still found myself working primarily with men.

Everyone started somewhere, and it’s easy to forget that we were all once that “new hire,” which can feel ominous and overwhelming. What is one thing that you would tell your former or younger self, or a young woman up and coming in this industry, that you wish someone had shared with you?

Neda: Believe in yourself and your abilities- when I first started at Startup Grind, I didn’t know how to use Google Hangouts. I had to do a practice call with my sister so I could get the hang of the software before I really dove in. I was worried since I’d never worked at a tech company before, however, nothing is too difficult to learn, you can do it. Nothing is hard unless you make it hard, don’t be afraid of new things. Now I use Bevy and tons of other software, everything is teachable, it is all learnable. I was patient with myself and I gave myself a chance to grow.

Tessa: Not to take things so personally. I’m very passionate about everything I do, which is great, it’s good to care and love… but it’s also okay if some things don’t work out or feedback isn’t what you want it to be. These things are there for us to grow and develop as people, don’t allow them to negatively affect you. Keep that passion and drive, but feedback is there to help you learn and grow, so don’t take it personally.

It’s funny how seemingly “minor” experiences can completely shift who we are and how we move about the world. The next question I asked was: what is one thing that you have overcome that unknowingly brought you to where you are today?

Neda: Trying new things. After finishing my MBA and law degree, I never thought of myself as an entrepreneur. My coworker, Peter Abuzolof, convinced me to join Startup Grind as a Chapter Director in Palestine. Taking the time to host was what drew me in. Volunteering to start, taking that risk, and not knowing what to do. I was able to help fellow entrepreneurs believe in themselves. I was so hesitant to go to San Francisco to attend my first Global Conference in 2015 but Derek pushed for it. I probably would still be at that telecom job if it wasn’t for that one “yes.” I would’ve ended up in a totally different place. Willingness to take risks and get out of your comfort zone can change your life. I was offered a job almost two years later. Small risks lead to big change.

Tessa: No one really knows this, but I actually had a panic attack in a meeting. I’ve never had issues or not been able to do a presentation, I’ve always felt comfortable and done my thing. I had to pause and teach myself how to get back to my base comfort level in order to present. I ended up getting into Toastmasters- it helped me relearn how to present and now I’m so much better at preparing. Before I’d just wing it, show up, and speak, but now I am sure to be well prepared and ready, which in turn makes me a better leader and presenter. What I was doing before was fine, but now I’m more concise, thoughtful, mindful, and deliberate. I’ve gotten better over time and it’s served me really well.

Working in tech can be incredibly rewarding and yet equally challenging. What is your favorite part about working for Startup Grind and Bevy?

Neda: Easy, the team, the people. Derek, Joel, and Alex have fostered an environment where the people come first. I’ve worked with both companies for 4 years and never had a problem with anyone at all. Coworkers are not just colleagues, they are considered friends and family at this point. The community is built so that our peers ascend to a whole other level. The culture at both companies has been built with passion, kindness, respect, it’s so special and unique.

Tessa: Building- working for a small company where you get to help build up the culture, team, the whole process. I can take what I’ve learned over the course of my career and apply it to Bevy and help make all of us that much more successful.

The world is moving fast, and times are changing every second. What does diversity mean to you, and what is something you wish received more visibility in the public sector?

Neda: Diversity is team members and colleagues from all over the world. People are coming together from different backgrounds and cultures to create something beautiful. Teams all gathering from different experiences, we are open-minded and value each other. When it comes to visibility, I think it comes back to hiring- giving people a chance, not being so strict in regards to education and experience levels. Thinking outside the box when it comes to candidates and broadening our mindset in regards to hiring diversity. Take the chance, look for the willingness to learn, look for passion- not just degrees and tech job experience.

Tessa: A workforce that reflects the country. People from various backgrounds, that will bring in a unique perspective. Different areas of expertise bring the best support system for the company and its goals. In terms of visibility, there are more women in the workforce than ever, yet women still are not represented at the senior and executive levels, at least not equally to men. I think we should work to understand why those barriers are there. When women apply for a job they feel the need to be borderline overqualified before they will even apply. When men will apply because they’ve met some requirements and know they will learn. Why do women feel like they have to wait until they know everything? They are already capable, they already bring so much to the table- learn as you go, adjust and adapt, you will become your better self. That’s what we need.

Women in the workforce may be nothing new, yet there are still so many obstacles that appear as we work to climb the ladder of success. This does not mean we will not rise to the occasion and take on that next challenge, it simply means we have a few more hurdles to overcome. Believing in yourself, accepting feedback, and taking risks are small ways to promote extensive change. The perseverance of women in tech is frankly nothing short of extraordinary, and there is infinitely more to celebrate as women continue to trailblaze and cultivate a future in this industry.

Are you interested in joining the amazing cast of women at Startup Grind? Check out our open positions and apply today!

--

--

The Startup Grind Team
Startup Grind

Stories & strategies curated by the Startup Grind global community. Interested in submitting? Visit our submission form: https://airtable.com/shrShpeN89HrzCzOB