Student Begins Asking “How’s Work” to Prepare for Real World

Mahir Shah
Startup Grind
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2016

WESTWOOD — Jack Georgiou, a 21-year-old senior, just began his final year at UCLA. Georgiou, like many of his peers, is nervous about working after college, but says he has already begun preparing for the new phase of his life by asking his friends the question, “How’s work?”

“Working in an office is going to be boring and I need to get ready for that. That’s why I already started having dull conversations with my friends about work. I even started acting like I love looking at pictures of their nieces and nephews,” Georgiou said.

Georgiou added that he bought a water cooler for his apartment so his friends can gather around it and talk about their mundane weekends.

“Jack is definitely ready for the real world. He takes exactly one-hour lunches and even ordered business cards from vistaprint.com. I know because he got the free ones that say vistaprint.com on the back,” stated Drew Yurley, friend and roommate of Georgiou.

Despite the preparation, Georgiou says he still does not feel ready for the working world because he has yet to find a job.

“I might just stay another year at UCLA,” said a slightly defeated Georgiou.

--

--

Mahir Shah
Startup Grind

Tech. Comedy. Work. Period-Delimited Descriptions.