Understanding the importance of protecting your IP

Julia Figueiredo
Startup Grind

--

I have built a career helping startups succeed! Today, I serve on the Advisory Board for Latinas in Tech, and I am the Director of LATAM at Silicon Valley Bank. In my article below, I share my personal story of how I got involved in the startup community, first as a business owner and then as a professional in one of the largest banks in the innovation economy and startup space. One common element in my journey of growth and learning was an appreciation of guarding your most crucial asset, the strength of your ideas — better known as your Intellectual Property (IP).

Growing up in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, I learned first-hand how difficult and rewarding it is to start a business. However, when that business failed, I also learned two key life skills that define startup founders more than others. First, the grit and courage it takes to re-start from ground zero, and second, the importance of protecting my ideas.

Fortunately, my passion for working in the high-paced world of startup businesses didn’t stop there. After enrolling in a Finance program at UC Berkeley, I began working for a startup in the Bay Area. Immediately, I got super excited about the prospects of working in the technology industry and started attending events and meetups, including Startup Grind events! Almost every evening I would attend events just to build my network, connect with mentors, and engage with people who had similar interests and a drive to contribute to the ever-growing technology industry landscape.

It was during this time, that I would also regularly get together with a group of Latina professionals who worked in tech around the Bay Area. We would have insightful huddles on several topics, ranging from discussions on work permits and visas, preparation for interviews as well as share best practices to survive and thrive in the technology industry of a foreign country. These impromptu meetings soon grew to become a powerful engine of ideas, advice, and engagement that could benefit more entrepreneurs. So, we gave it a formal structure and organized our own non-profit: Latinas in Tech.

When I wrote an article on protecting IP for Silicon Valley Bank, I would often reflect on my experiences back in Brazil which were so crucial to shaping me into the professional I am today. As someone who has seen startup life from both a founder’s and a banker’s perspective, I know all too well why it is so important to protect one’s most valuable asset: your ideas! I also know the power of sharing knowledge and how it can catalyze positive forces in changing people’s lives. My experiences with SVB and Latinas in Tech reinforce that belief more with every passing day.

For any tech and innovation startup, your IP is the greatest asset that you can bring to bear, whether it is negotiating with investors or crystallizing your vision to redefine your industry space. During the time of bootstrapping and raising pre-seed funding, protecting your IP is critical and you need practical advice and guidance on steps you can take to protect your ideas.

In my full article, I cover multiple considerations as well as actionable steps that you can take to protect yourself and mitigate some common risks when it comes to securing your IP. These include:

Protecting your IP with insurance and legal services

Process for getting a patent

Process for copyright protection

As a startup founder, you have a million things competing for your attention, but my intention is to ensure that the fundamental goal of protecting your IP remains top of mind. The steps I describe are not difficult but do require attention. My hope is that from the experiences I have shared, I can provide you with a quick and easy way to secure your IP to the benefit of you, your company, and your investors.

Click here to read the full text of my article.

--

--

Julia Figueiredo
Startup Grind

Head of startup banking for Latin America and Miami at Silicon Valley Bank. Advisor at Latinas in Tech. From Brazil and based in Miami. #SVBlatam