Why I became a cyborg… and so will you

I recently had an RFid chip implanted on my left hand! 😨

Rui Gouveia
Startup Grind
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2016

--

I know it sounds like a stupid thing to do. Maybe even dangerous.
But the real reason is, it felt right to do it. I needed to have it.

Just like an artist might wish to use his body as a canvas for a tattoo, a technologist like me can use his body as a technology device.

I can now open office doors without my card, and will be DIYing a bunch of other experiments where an ID is needed.

My right hand is still available for a better chip. I told you it was like tattoos, the first one is just the beginning.

I’ve spent a year preparing for this. Amal DT Graafstra from DangerousThings.com has been on the forefront of the biohacking movement for some time and he convinced me to go for it.

During this year of research something became very clear:

We’ll all be cyborgs very soon, and not even notice it.

That’s been happening in healthcare for several years. Don’t you have an uncle with a pacemaker?

And will only improve and become more interesting, like Ray Kurzweil predicts… “20 to 25 years from now, we will have millions of blood-cell sized devices, known as nanobots, inside our bodies fighting against diseases, improving our memory, and cognitive abilities.”

“Your senses limit your reality”

Why should we be limited to 5 senses? Why not x-ray vision? Or a sonar like dolphins have?

Historically humans have created things to improve and go beyond limitations. From airplanes, to running shoes to cosmetics.

Biohacking is a new chapter on this journey to Transhumanism.
Just a faster one, at the speed of new science and tech.
And it can be a good thing.

Transhumanism is an international and intellectual movement that aims to transform the human condition by developing and creating widely available sophisticated technologies to greatly enhance human intellectual, physical, and psychological capacities.

--

--

Rui Gouveia
Startup Grind

All Things Digital ɔıʇɐuɐɟ // Creative technologist by uƃısǝp // Entrepreneur by ʇɹɐǝɥ // Founder @comongroup & @builduplabs