Let’s Time Travel

Timehop — The time capsule in my pocket.

Adit Gupta
Startup Weekly Reviews

--

Timehop is a visual memory app, which brings together pieces of memories that you may have created over many years on various social channels on that very day! They have a really interesting startup story as an email-first product covered nicely by Ryan Hoover on his blog.

I have been playing around with this app for some months now and have been simply delighted by Timehop on more than a few occasions. I’ll try and condense my thoughts in 3 simple reasons.

1. One Thing and One Thing well

It’s almost shocking how a simple idea can delight you immensely every single day! Timehop claims to do exactly one thing, and does that really well.

What did you do one year ago today?

Every morning I wake up, I have a friendly reminder from Timehop showing what I was doing or thinking a few years ago on that very day. It’s absolutely mind-blowing to see how my thoughts, ideas or my life in general have matured and evolved over the past few years.

2. A blast from the past

“Ahhh, those were the days!” — My exact reaction after looking at this picture of mine from a trip to Rajasthan, India with my buds!

Timehop has made remembering memories you made with your girlfriend really easy (especially for a guy like me!). It’s crazy how much you can “Wow” your lady friend by just sharing some beautiful times with her through Timehop.

Also, pictures from my various escapades with friends and family can make you really nostalgic

3. The Dinosaur in the room

As a UX designer my passion is to review visually pleasing elements used in various apps. Their visual designer has done a fabulous job by using the dinosaur as their mascot and in various explainer screens!

Apart from just collecting photos, tweets or status messages, Timehop renders them to you in a really creative yearly timeline format. It has an entirely unique take on timelines made popular by social media giants like Facebook, Path etc.

The amazing timeline

Also, the chat feature inside the app is a great way of sharing that day in your life with loved ones!

I have one qualm though, I can’t quite fathom the reason why Timehop is still an exclusively iOS app after months of perfecting it for users. I have a ton of friends who would love to participate in sharing memories together on Android too!

EDIT: They are gonna roll out for Android in Feb 2014 (approx). Here’s a link to subscribe to that update!

Anyways, till they actually perfect time travel, I’ll be sticking to my Timehop to peek at what I was upto just a few years ago!

If you liked this article, please do recommend it below and share it with friends!

Also, find me on Twitter @Blabfest where I ramble about startups and things I’m dabbling in!

--

--