addfunny.com

Users that send bug reports are your biggest fans. Cherish that!

Kirill Zubovsky
Best Blog Ever
2 min readOct 14, 2013

--

This morning Jenn wrote a new Scoutzie post entitled “How to tell if a designer is good,” and we did the usual thing to share it with our fans — posted it oh Hacker News, Twitter, Facebook. I could see the clicks immediately in the analytics, but the most exciting part of the morning was to get a bug report from one of our users!

That’s right, I love bug reports.
Our friend Michael from Smart Asset emailed me saying:

“Loved this content because we have asked ourselves this question about designers before but just as FYI, the blog is a little difficult for me to read (see screenshot).”

Cool. First I was really glad that we published an answer to something that he found difficult in the past; that means we’ll be able to help more folks in the future. Second, I was pretty sure our design was good and last time I checked, everything looked well on my screen.

So, I took a look at the screenshot.

Turns out, if you were looking at our blog from a Windows computer running chrome, then our Merriweather font in light grey was showing up too thin. So thin, in fact, that if you weren’t committed to read the entire post, you’d probably leave… oh crap!

Of course, the fix was quite fast. I just updated site-wide css to a much darker shade of grey and pushed it back out. Sure, it does not look as sexy on a Mac screen anymore, but if the choice is between looking great and being legible for a big chunk of our readers, then I obviously choose the latter.

When your users find your content worthy, they take the time out of their day to help you make it even better. Don’t dismiss it, embrace it, use it as a starting point for a conversation.

If you got a bug report from a user, be happy, that means they care and looking forward to see the improved version of your product!

p.s. I do realize for users of old versions of IE, our blog looks quite bad. Please download Chrome.

p.p.s. If you’d like to leave a comment and you have a Hacker News account, you can do so here.

--

--

Kirill Zubovsky
Best Blog Ever

Entrepreneur, Dad. Currently working on SmashNotes.com and a few other projects. For details, check out kirillzubovsky.com