Books you want me to read in 2016

Jean Lucas Lima
Frontiers
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2016

Hey, help me picking more than three books to read this year.

I’m trying to rebuild my reading habit and I need your help, please, suggest your favorite books in the comment section.

I have some troubles finding books myself, not because I can’t read, but because it’s hard to get motivated with something I find when going to a book store. My head goes a bit like this: What if the book is not good? What if I’m wasting time reading another book that sounds more motivational than useful?

Although every book that someone suggested me to read I do it quickly, even if it was not good. I trust peer review and community suggestions.

Given that I am here to invite you, random internet citizen, to pick my next readings. I’ll update as it happens, and as suggestions are accepted.

Nowadays I read about startups, business (creation of value, negotiation, market niches), economics, product design, and development. Here are the books I have on my list so far:

Thanks Seth Louey for giving this a gift in your Santa Hunt this year. I was not the one that got the book, but made me know about it.

For those who don’t know the author, Marty Cagan, he held head executive product positions at eBay, AOL, Netscape, Continuus and HP.

This book is his words on what is the true job of a Product Manager, and even starts with a provocation: “Why do some products make the leap to greatness while others do not?”

Excited to see if it improves my product design and management skills.

Adventure Time! :D

This is a graphic novel by Sydney Padua on how Ada Lovelace and Charles Babbage created the first computer. I took a look at some pages and what I find is: a lovely illustration style, jokes on delivering to clients (a really special client), the bumps of product creation, the funny dynamic of a group when building something together, and steampunk/Victorian style.

As a true Computer Science fan, addicted to machines, programmer, and user this book got me thrilled. Also gave me lots of inspirations to Academia Lovelace, a non-profit organization I run in Brazil to teach women to code using Free Code Camp as platform.

The title is inviting for anyone that ever tried to build a startup or is already building one. When you start everything seems to be impossible: getting clients, finding strategy, building the product, looking for capital, and so on.

Then let me say something that may sound exaggerated: This is the playbook for sales along with Predictable Revenue.

How do I know? I was a complete newbie to sales by the time of Predictable Revenue and it was so so great I pre-ordered From Impossible to Inevitable while it was being written. I’m just waiting for the last chapters.

I had startups, I failed because I was too technical and didn’t know how to sell. I plan to change that before my next one. If you are building a startup you should read this.

By the way, if you liked this one I recommend reading Jason M. Lemkin’s blog SaaStr and the Quora blog and Aaron Ross social media accounts.

And that’s it! I mean, too few books, right? Then tell me what books changed your life and why would you recommend a random guy on the internet to read it.

--

--