Wandering thoughts

tempest of starting up

Devin Elliot
Startup Wilderness
2 min readFeb 26, 2014

--

It’s a Tuesday, which is irrelevant. I’ve yet to find myself in any vertical twice. Why do I do this to myself? The world does not appreciate people jumping ship. I thought I was going to be a professional baseball player, but before I finished growing I switched to snowboarding. Then I started my first business, a painting company. Oh but since that wasn’t challenging enough, I traded it all in to join a biofuel startup. After a good run at that, what the hell, might as well quit without anything lined up in the height of a recession. Seeing as I had become an expert in biofuels, naturaly it made sense to leave the industry and join a weather tech startup a few states away, but only long enough for that to not workout. Proceed to college, where I had never been, start fresh, and then once that’s going well…fucking quit. Start my own company, and now push a vision with a product that doesn’t seem to solve a problem. For…fuck’s…sake. What the hell am I doing?

Life may be easy for some, mine would probably be if I let it. I know that it’s possible to become amazing at anything you’re willing to work hard at. I have the ability to find myself in the elite ranks of anything I have worked hard at. It’s all in the mind.

I’m conflicted with the ability to excel easily in sports while simultaneously being bored to tears. I love the recreation of sport but see no lasting societal value other than leisure. I want to make my mark, to leave a fucking crater where I was. Why? I have no idea, but it’s what motivates me. I want to inspire because I’ve been inspired, because inspiration brings out the best in us. I want the best of us to go towards improving life.

Tuesday brought news I didn’t want to hear about the product I think we are building. Tomorrow, if history has any say, I will have forgotten the pain. There will be a wrinkle of hope that I was too frustrated to see today. Tomorrow will rekindle the flame that flickers. It must, because I am inspired and I have yet to do my part; to inspire.

--

--

Devin Elliot
Startup Wilderness

Entrepreneur, Dad, glorified dog servant. Build what inspires you.