Buspreneur interview with Vasili Sofiadelis

The StartupBus Team
The StartupBus Blog
3 min readNov 14, 2013

Vasili Sofiadelis is a first generation Greek in South Africa who has transitioned from playing professional soccer in both Greece and South Africa to being a chartered accountant for PwC. Sofiadelis works at PwC in an innovative role; seconded from PwC’s Deal’s team.

  1. Who are you? Describe yourself in 3 sentences.
    I am a very passionate person who loves adding value and making a difference to peoples lives. I’m quite innovative in that I’m not a typical accountant… I always wanted to do my own thing and love doing “extraordinary” things, there is no such thing as “it’s not possible”, especially if there is a need!
  2. What do you expect from your participation on the bus?
    I am expecting to meet extremely creative, passionate and innovative people that are also keen to make a difference; no matter what the odds. I am very much looking forward to this experience and am keen to identify ways in which I can contribute/add value to this great initiative.
  3. Why Africa? Why now?
    African countries are showing great growth and have vast resources. There is also great investment being made in infrastructure from around the world into Africa, which will lead to strong growth across many industries. This, coupled with determined, aspiring and innovative Africans, will see many developments in Africa for the needs of Africans. The time is now- a truly exciting time!
  4. What is your area of expertise — mobile development, healthcare, or the energy sector? Please talk a little bit about how you gained this expertise…
    I have been involved in several businesses, including running some of my dad’s businesses from a young age (I am now invested in my own restaurants).
    I finished an accounting degree and I’m currently working for PwC, based in the Bandwidth Barn; arguably Africa’s oldest incubator (in the tech start-up space). I’m currently in an innovation role at PwC, seconded from our Deal’s team; which is responsible for performing due diligence, valuations and M&A work across several industries, which includes listed clients.
  5. Please share an idea for a technology (mobile, health, energy) that can solve a problem/s local to the South African region.
    Enabling access to medicine in the informal settlements, as opposed to cuing at hospitals (this is especially necessary for diabetes, AIDS and chronic medication).
  6. Everyone has a special story. What is yours?
    I am a proud South African/Greek — first generation Greek). I quit my studies to play professional soccer at 13 years of age and played in the top division in Greece for almost two years. I subsequently, at 27 years old, went back to university to complete my studies, while at the same time playing professional soccer in SA. Once I completed my studies, I again pursued my football and again played overseas. I subsequently qualified as a chartered accountant and I am now on my way to StartupBus Africa! :-)
  7. Are you sponsoring yourself or do you have sponsors? Please tell us about your sponsors…
    I am being sponsored by my company, PwC. We are involved in several collaborative initiatives to contribute to the great tech ecosystem in SA — an exciting space indeed.

--

--

The StartupBus Team
The StartupBus Blog

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. Apply for the legendary startup competition at https://startupbus.com