Lessons from AJ O’Reilly, founder of Adventure Field Guides

Keirsten White
StartupIU
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

I had the opportunity to meet up with AJ O’Reilly to learn more about his current startup, Adventure Field Guides. Adventure Field Guides collects trip data from various sources to build unforgettable custom trips for explorers who want help planning trips to do on their own. After a one on one chat, Adventure Field Guides prepares everything from recipes to hiking locations and emergency rescue plans for interested adventurers. Trips are customized to the individual, and thanks to their large database, they are guaranteed to be trips of a lifetime. AJ got his undergraduate degree in Graphic Design at IU, and is now pursuing a master’s degree in Graphic Design at IU. His passion for his work and unique journey was inspiring to say the least. I hope this story inspires you to pursue your passions fearlessly, as it has me.

AJ, how did you come up with the idea for Adventure Field Guides?

I was planning a 10 day trip to Iceland with my wife, and I wanted to do more than stay in Reykjavik. It took me so much more time to plan the trip than to actually go on the trip, and I saw a big opportunity for guiding services. 56% of people would rather go on a trip without a guiding service — there’s a huge opportunity to help them plan.

“If you asked me a year ago if I’d be pursuing this idea, I don’t know if I would have said yes.”

Where is Adventure Field Guides now? How did you get here?

I started out 4 months ago with a one sentence idea when I joined the B-Start Program in Bloomington. I am gathering interest now for early access to our services. I’ve been very impressed by the amount of traction I’ve gained in such a short amount of time. My goal is to fully launch Adventure Trip Guides in July.

Is there any class in particular that has helped you? Did you use any IU resources?

My undergraduate degree was in art, so no classes come to mind. I served on the Union Board and I worked as a trip leader at IU Outdoor Adventures. The Union Board gave me the skills to think about partnerships and the complexity of organizations. IU Outdoor Adventures gave me confidence in leading trips on my own, and a passion for the outdoors that I plan to turn into a career today.

What past experiences have helped the most?

Graphic design helped me do freelance. I also got connected in the community by doing more than just going to Startup Mic Nite. I went to Indy often to meet startups and learn from them. I also owned a product design consultancy firm for startups for 5 years after graduation, before pursuing my master’s degree. The B-Start Program has also helped me by growing my network, connecting me with mentors, and strengthening my business skills. Additionally, The Purdue Foundry has helped me with marketing essentials.

Who inspired you along the way?

Some startups in Bloomington have inspired me, and watching them grow has been really cool. My wife, a PhD student, inspires me to stay focused on the success of Adventure Field Guides. Patagonia also inspires me. They built their business on good values and passion.

I meet with a friend often to talk about businesses that grew from nothing. It gives me a strong reminder of why I am doing this. My goal is to have a company of 20–30 people who are happy and able to do what they love. I’m not interested in owning a large corporation.

What advice would you give to student, or future, entrepreneurs?

“Start something.”

My biggest piece of advice is to start. In the beginning, the only investment you need is time and sweat. Get revenue before you search for funding. Make sure people are willing to pay for your service by offering presales or discounts to raise money from customers first before investors. You don’t need a finished product before you have a business. Get your idea started, and build from there.

If you have an idea, join a pre-accelerator program. If you get in they will walk you through the fundamentals of starting a business.

Check out the Adventure Field Guides website, here.

--

--

Keirsten White
StartupIU

I’m inspired by the stories of entrepreneurs making a difference in their communities.