So this is what it’s like working in a startup

I might actually be having the time of my life.

Naomi G.
#StartupPH Chronicles
4 min readNov 17, 2013

--

I never pictured myself working in a startup. I have heard of their existence — those tech companies developing life-changing technologies, offering solutions to problems we didn't even realize existed. I had a vague idea what they were but never really thought that someone like me — a writer — would find a place in that world. I thought startups are only for techies and entrepreneurs.

But life has a way of delivering the most wonderful surprises at your door. For over a month now, I've been part of the exciting world of startups, kept on my toes working with a group of bright and highly optimistic people. Everyone is so focused, so damn good at what they do. It’s challenging and to me, the challenge is the benefit.

What do I really want?

At 29, I found myself at a point in my career where I felt restless and uncertain. Four years of freelancing taught me a lot about my own strengths and limits, and about possibilities, but while I was able to earn good income while doing something I love and am fairly good at, I craved to be part of a team again; for an opportunity to work toward goals that are far bigger than me.

As a web copywriter, I was lucky enough to be given credit for most of the work I do. It did not start out that way. I started my freelance career writing for peanuts and have surely had my share of Clients from Hell. Eventually, with the help of friends who were in the same boat as I am, I learned to build a rewarding career as a freelancer. However, it came to a point when I wanted something more than a by-line.

Writing sabbatical

I took a break from writing that lasted months, doing nothing except watching YouTube videos, lurking K-POP forums (okay, I may have posted occasionally), and catching up on Breaking Bad and Mad Men. I had no idea what to do next and I was for some reason too scared to take a step in any direction. Even my house was a mess.

Should I continue taking web projects in which I have no personal stake in? Should I just concede and return to the corporate world, which I left in the first place because sticking to routine is my definition of a nightmare? Would I be better off exploring other fields (real estate?) seeing as there’s not a lot of choices for someone with my skills set?

Broke, unemployed, and undecided

I finally got bored about being bored, so I updated my resume, sent out job applications, and hoped for the best. I went to a handful of rather interesting job interviews over the next couple of months, not really sure what I was doing. I’m almost thirty and companies are mostly looking for fresh graduates. I need a job but I wanted not just a job. I was looking for something I could enjoy doing for a really long time.

I was reaching the verge of desperation, just about ready to bite the next BPO offer that comes my way, when I got an invitation from Nova Founders co-founder Gerald Eder to apply for a position with a startup digital agency. (The funny thing is, he contacted me on LinkedIn, which I just about declared useless at this point.) That’s when I was finally introduced to the wonder-filled world of startups.

I’ll be here a while

For the first time in my life, I can actually see myself staying in one place for a quite a long while. Our digital agency, which at the moment exists solely to support other ventures by Nova Founders, is aggressively expanding and in my first month alone, I have experienced lots of changes in terms of my responsibilities and my environment.

Currently, much of our time is spent on CompareHero.my and similar comparison engines catered to six other countries in Asia, including here in the Philippines, scheduled to launch in the next few months. After those, we will be taking on more ventures.

There is so much to learn, particularly in the entrepreneurial aspect of startups, and so much to look forward to. It’s fast-paced and it’s charged with energy. There’s pressure, but the positive kind. The best part is being able to actually see how every little thing you do makes a huge impact — or everything you fail to do. (Failure, however, is not really something we discuss during meetings. It’s always about winning!)

Suffice to say, I’ve no idea what I am going to be doing in a year. Or in a couple of years. Somehow, I’m pretty damn sure it’s going to be something exciting.

Naomi writes on Medium to take a break from all the financial topics she does at work. She dreams of a world filled with bright colors and beautiful typography. She likes long beach-bound road trips at night with good music playing in the background. Follow her on Twitter or connect with her on Facebook or LinkedIn.

--

--

Naomi G.
#StartupPH Chronicles

Marketing head for Bluewave Global. Photographer/ filmmaker wannabe. Mermaid queen. @naomiruthg