Meet Connor our Manufacturing Program Associate

Have You Met…Connor Claussen

Meet Our Manufacturing Program Associate

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment
3 min readMar 31, 2023

--

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: The East End of Pittsburgh, PA.

Q: How did you hear about Innovation Works?

A: Word of mouth — everyone talks in Pittsburgh!

Q: What drew you to work here?

A: The mission to positively impact the community and drive economic growth. More specifically, working alongside startups and entrepreneurs was my dream after having successfully exited my business. I wanted to share my experience with other entrepreneurs.

Q: Let’s say I’m an entrepreneur in Southwestern Pennsylvania, what can I ask for your help on?

A: Any and all of your pain points. I’m very solution oriented and I get excited about the idea of helping solve problems in your business.

Q: Reflecting on your experience in manufacturing and startups, what is the number one piece of advice you would give a startup?

A: I HAVE to give two pieces of advice, one is just not enough. 1.) There are no mountains without the valleys. Entrepreneurship is difficult and you will have hard moments — remember though, the good times simply cannot exist without the hard times. 2.) Remove can’t from your vocabulary! Resiliency is a prerequisite for success, not only in business — but I believe, also in life.

Q: What technology/industry are you most excited about and why?

A: Robotics, AI, ML, VR, & IR. There is so much development and innovation in these fields, how can’t you get excited about it? Slightly scary at times? Sure… but when was the last time you went on an exciting adventure that wasn’t a little bit frightening! Think, The Phantom’s Revenge at Kennywood!

Q: Step back to Connor at age 18, what line of work had you envisioned for yourself? How closely aligned is your current work to that vision?

A: I’ve been entrepreneurial since I could knock on doors. At 18, I knew I wanted to start my own business. I am very grateful to have experienced operating and exiting my own business venture. I feel very aligned with my current work. My heart loves to help, and my brain thinks about business.

Q: What issues that face our region are you most passionate about?

A: The inequality of opportunity. From entrepreneurship to homeownership, this is a deeply rooted issue that has many dynamic layers to it. Local manufacturing is also under-represented and under-utilized.

Q: Who were your influences growing up?

A: My parents! They were both entrepreneurs and worked so hard to provide for us. I’m eternally grateful for the work ethic they instilled in me.

Q: Do you have a recent book, TV show, movie or Podcast that you enjoyed?

A: How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie was a great recent read. I’ve been enjoying the podcast “How I Built This” with Guy Raz.

Q: Tell us about your volunteer work.

A: I volunteered at the Mattress Factory to hand out soft pretzels with my company. During COVID we launched a donation program to help healthcare workers in need. We donated thousands of soft pretzels in partnership with Magee Womens Hospital. I’d like to get more involved with the Pittsburgh Public School system, possibly help coach a volleyball team!

Q: What does an average Saturday look like for you?

A: Getting outside! Either locally or traveling to another location, I love to spend time outdoors. If it’s too cold, you can find me at a local coffee shop working on a new business venture or playing music at home.

Q: When asked for a ‘fun fact’ about yourself, what’s your go-to?

A: I produced a song for a now popular artist! The title is “girl in new york” by ROLEMODEL.

--

--

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment

Innovation Works is one of the nation’s most active seed funds. AlphaLab (AL), ALGear, and ALHealth are nationally ranked startup accelerator programs of IW.