Have You Met…Shelly Brown

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment
2 min readMar 18, 2022

--

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: I was raised in Clairton, PA — a small mill town in southern Allegheny County. Go Bears!

Q: How did you hear about Innovation Works?

A: I knew of Innovation Works from my time at The University of Pittsburgh where I led a robotics team…they were into robots too!

Q: What drew you to work here?

A: I’ve always had a love for connecting young people to science and technology…Startable is a perfect combination of my passions, education, and experiences.

Q: Let’s say I’m an entrepreneur in Southwestern Pennsylvania, what can I ask for your help on?

A: Great question! Via Startable, we can offer hands-on (in-person and virtual) guidance of product design and development, creating a business model, and branding, marketing, and pitching the product to potential investors. We also provide access to successful local entrepreneurs for mentorship, training, and advice.

Q: Reflecting on your experience in education and program management, what is the number one piece of advice you would give a startup?

A: Stay focused and true to your vision.

Q: What technology/industry are you most excited about and why?

A: I love devices that track vital signs and medical status…it allows people to take better ownership of their health.

Q: Step back to Shelly at age 18, what line of work had you envisioned for yourself? How closely aligned is your current work to that vision?

A: I thought I wanted to be a pediatrician and help children, but I think I just wanted to wear a lab coat! My professional life has included working in laboratory and research settings, all with some aspect of helping children and families.

Q: What issues that face our region are you most passionate about?

A: Equitable access to education for underserved children, especially opportunities to explore STEM.

Q: Tell us about your volunteer work.

A: I’d love to! I’ve been active with the Homeless Children’s Education Fund for several years now as a volunteer board member, where I chair the Educational Resources and Programming Committee. Along with the AMAZING staff, we support after school programs in local shelters, provide counseling and emergency financial support to high school students with housing instability, and offer mobile and virtual tutoring. We also provide scholarships and ongoing support to freshmen college students who experienced homelessness as children. Our fundraising gala, Champions for Children, is June 2, 2022 at Phipps Conservatory.

Q: What does an average Saturday look like for you?

A: I’m a bruncher and I love a good estate sale! Yard work and housework first though…

Q: When asked for a ‘fun fact’ about yourself, what’s your go-to?

A: I was a Pittsburgh Police Officer for twelve years and loved every minute of it!

--

--

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment

Innovation Works is one of the nation’s most active seed funds. AlphaLab (AL), ALGear, and ALHealth are nationally ranked startup accelerator programs of IW.