Have You Met…Valerie Daugherty

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment
3 min readJul 27, 2022

--

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: I lived on Long Island in NY until I was about 11, and then my family relocated to Upstate, NY where I finished out my adolescent and high school years.

Q: How did you hear about Innovation Works?

A: Honestly, through a recruiter. But, in thinking about it I believe I had heard the name while working at an Intellectual Property firm a few years back.

Q: What drew you to work here?

A: I wanted a change and the ability to utilize my legal skills in a completely different setting. But, the people I met initially and the discussions we had about the culture at IW are what really sold me!

Q: Let’s say I’m an entrepreneur in Southwestern Pennsylvania, what can I ask for your help on?

A: I can assist you with Internship and Space Agreements, help facilitate any support needed from the Investment or Legal team and just overall guidance through your time with IW.

Q: Reflecting on your experience in life and the legal world, what is the number one piece of advice you would give a startup?

A: Listen to those who you have enlisted to help you on your journey. They are involved because they want you to succeed!

Q: What technology/industry are you most excited about and why?

A: Just how advances in technology (in general) can, and has, improved the medical field. I am very much not a science person, but have always been interested in the medical field and different ways it can be improved and built upon.

Q: Step back to Valerie at age 18, what line of work had you envisioned for yourself? How closely aligned is your current work to that vision?

A: Something in human services. I think what I am doing now is vaguely similar in that I am still helping people!

Q: What issues that face our region are you most passionate about?

A: Knowledge about and access to alternative holistic medicine practices and affordable/healthy food.

Q: Who were your influences growing up?

A: Filmmakers, writers, directors and all of the people it takes, behind the scenes, to create a good movie. I have loved movies since I was a kid and am still fascinated by the creativity and sheer fortitude it takes to get from a simple idea to the final product we see.

Q: Do you have a recent book, TV show, movie or Podcast that you enjoyed?

A: My newest Netflix obsession is The Chef. Any true crime podcast can most commonly be heard playing in the background of my workday when working from my home office. Also, The Premonition: A Pandemic Story by Michael Lewis is a book I finished recently that I think is worth picking up.

Q: Tell us about your volunteer work.

A: The North Hills Food Bank and Animal Friends are two programs that I am affiliated with and have a huge place in my heart. Every person should have access to food and every animal deserves to be taken care of!

Q: What does an average Saturday look like for you?

A: I can usually be found spending time outdoors at North Park, blasting music through the house while meal-prepping for the week and just spending time at the house with friends and family.

Q: When asked for a ‘fun fact’ about yourself, what’s your go-to?

A: I am a fairly decent cook, but can’t bake a decent batch of chocolate chip cookies to save my life!

--

--

Innovation Works
Startups & Investment

Innovation Works is one of the nation’s most active seed funds. AlphaLab (AL), ALGear, and ALHealth are nationally ranked startup accelerator programs of IW.