I’m leaving, but not really.

Jenn Van Dam
Startups & Investment
2 min readJul 15, 2016

Today was my last day as Program Coordinator at AlphaLab, but … tomorrow is my first day as Digital & Community Engagement Manager at Innovation Works.

#TBT to when I was interviewing for the Program Coordinator position, Jim Jen and Aaron Tainter, AlphaLab’s Executive Director and Program Manager, asked me (among a bunch of thoughtful questions) what I wanted to learn from this role and wow, have I learned a lot. It has been extremely rewarding to be a part of the AlphaLab team through the selections, iterations, and launches of five cohorts of companies. In the past two years, I have worked closely with startup companies, built community within AlphaLab’s mentor and alumni networks, and learned about entrepreneurship, investment, and product development from colleagues who have years of experience in the field. I’ve also learned that Jim Jen can literally work a sports or dating analogy into any conversation — seriously.

So if I love my job and appreciate my colleagues so much why am I leaving, right? As the Digital & Community Engagement Manager at Innovation Works I will be able to continue to do the work that I love on a larger scale, managing the digital marketing for the entire Innovation Works brand and engaging with the wider Innovation Works community, while also connecting with and helping even more entrepreneurs to succeed. I also still get to work with everyone at Innovation Works, AlphaLab, and AlphaLab Gear. I am so stoked to take on this role!

Since I’m leaving AlphaLab, we’re looking for someone to fill the Program Coordinator position. This is an important position for the AlphaLab program and the organization. This person should be someone who brings a great blend of operational and marketing skills, learns quickly to fill many roles, and thrives in the fast pace of a startup environment. If you’re that person or know someone who would be perfect for this role, you can find the full job description on Innovation Works’ job page: https://www.innovationworks.org/talent/

--

--

Jenn Van Dam
Startups & Investment

Digital & Community Engagement Manager @iwpgh. Media literacy & social justice advocate. I’m here for intentional inclusion in tech. Opinions are my own.