Women in Manufacturing: Melissa Vecchi — JV Manufacturing

In honor of national manufacturing month, we’re highlighting women in Southwestern PA working in manufacturing.

AlphaLab Gear
Startups & Investment
5 min readOct 10, 2022

--

AlphaLab Gear offers the Scalable Innovation Program to take your product to the next stage of scale. We connect our network of experienced entrepreneurs to manufacturing experts in the region. Have questions on how to create your product locally in PA? Meet with our staff during our office hours, click here to reserve your time.

Name and Company: JV Manufacturing Co.

Can you give us the elevator pitch on what your company does?

We are leading in the industry in designing and building progressive stamping tools for worldwide fortune 500 companies.

How did you develop this company or get involved in your role?

It was a tragic start with the passing of my dear friend and JV’s HR Manager, I was covering for her while she was out and she unexpectedly passed away. I went from full time mom to full time HR Manager, Student, and Coach. It was incredibly challenging nor was it ever a career I thought I would end up in.

As I continued to grow, I found that I had skills that filled gaps not only at JV but within the Industry. I learned I could bring a different perspective to our organization that would help push JV further.

Melissa and her family enjoying the zoo

What types of companies do you work with?

Energy Production, Consumer Goods, Aerospace, Defense, Mint, Medical.

What do you enjoy about your job?

People and Opportunities for others. I love the people side, the opportunities it provides for people in the community with jobs, training, working with students to bridge gaps between stigma of MFG like dirty jobs vs. the clean careers it provides. I love watching the confidence it gives a student or minority individual when they mastered a skill, you see the pride on their face. Outside of the people internally, I love building the relationships with partners, suppliers, customers anyone and learning from them. They all bring something unique to the industry and I just want to absorb it all like a sponge. I think the relationships built doing my job is what I enjoy most and watching the growth and success from all of them.

What is a challenge in manufacturing that you would like to tackle?

I would like to see more diversity. I am shocked at how little diversity there is in MFG. I recently went to a large show and I was expecting to not see many women but I was not expecting to not see a more diverse male crowd. I want to know why and how can people like me help build that. I think building diversity within the industry and creating spaces for minority groups to succeed within MFG would actually tackle other challenges that all MFG face today.

Can you tell us about a lesson you learned in your career?

As a leader it is easier to immediately jump to a conclusion, to answer a question quickly, to respond to a reaction, but what I think is more valuable for the company and individual is to ask more questions. Instead of jumping to a conclusion about a direct report, just ask, “can you help me understand why you have been calling off so frequently?” Instead of answering a question, help grow that individual, “What do you think, should we put employee X on a PIP, will that give you the results you need from employee X?”

I have always been a questioning person so what I have recently learned is how you ask the questions matter. Instead of “do you have any questions for me?” “Ask me two questions?” “What would be a question you might ask after hearing what I just said?” More often than not by asking the question differently you get better communication and more participation.

What is one myth or common misconception people have about manufacturing?

I feel like this is two parts. Internally and Externally:

Externally, many people think you need a 4 year degree to make over poverty level wage, that isn’t true. The average JV employee does not have any secondary education and makes over $60K, has healthcare for them and their family with no cost to them, bonuses, 401K bonuses, 160 hours of paid time off and more. Careers are built in MFG. My dad lived less then two minutes from JV most of his career, he had to work in all weather conditions for a company that he never made more than $20 an hour. He worked for over 20 years. When my dad found out about JV, he was upset, he said “I never would have thought that it wasn’t a dirty low paying assembly like work.”

Internally, I hear our machinist make comments like, I don’t want to retire as “just a machinist.” JUST A MACHINIST! Is what I think. Don’t get me wrong, I am always for improvements and growth opportunities as well as personally, I just like to learn new things often, however, these machinist are not JUST MACHINIST, they are artist, they are mathematicians, they are perfectionist that make the work look easy when it is not. These men and women are holding tolerance as thin as hair. If I could have the skills of one of our machinist and I retired with that skill, I would be so incredibly proud of what I have achieved.

I think a major myth is that “blue collar” workers are consider nothing more than labors and can be replaced- that is not true. You can not find another Davinci, these men and women machinist are artists that have mastered the skill of manufacturing.

Are there any organizations that have helped you or your company?

Catalyst Connection has been a successful partner with JVM since early parts of 2019. Working with Catalyst, JV was able to identify needs, implement goals, and achieve outcomes. I would say we get better at this every year thanks to Connie & Bob. The biggest win working with Catalyst has been identifying the RIGHT individuals to bring on our team to achieve our company vision!

The WiM summit, was a great way for me not only to connect with a co-worker that attended but also dive into some quick training and topics that are important for women in manufacturing or anyone in manufacturing. WiM for me is like a national and local Sorority for manufacturing women to connect, support, and learn from, ultimately achieving all of our underlying goal of GROWING WITHIN THE INDUSTRY.

For me personally, Catalyst and WiM, brought me the support I needed as well as the education I was lacking to fill a role quickly in manufacturing.

To learn more about JV Manufacturing, visit their website.

--

--

AlphaLab Gear
Startups & Investment

A hardware/robotics startup accelerator that provides physical product companies with investment, mentorship and connections.