Announcing our 2018 jury members

Representing six continents, and hailing from journalism and tech organisations, the 2018 jury members will choose the most innovative startups working to improve newsrooms.

We are proud to unveil our jury for the next season of Startups for News. Coming from renowned newsrooms, prestigious foundations or with an entrepreneurial background, they will help choose the most pertinent tools and identify the latest trends in journalism.

Have a look at our interactive map here.

Meet our jury members:

  • Catalina Albeanu, International Editor,
  • Greg Barber, Director of Newsroom Product, The Washington Post
  • Mariano Blejman, Chief Digital Officer, Grupo Octubre
  • Evangéline de Bourgoing, Chief Content Officer, Global Editors Network
  • David Cohn, Senior Director, Advance Digital
  • Ricardo Corredor Cure, Executive Director, Gabriel García Márquez New Journalism Foundation
  • Chris Gathercole, Head of FT Labs, Financial Times
  • Mohammed Haddad, Senior Interactive Producer, Al Jazeera
  • Ferial Haffajee, Editor-at-Large, The Huffington Post South Africa
  • Turi Munthe, Venture Partner, North Base Media
  • Oluseun Onigbinde, co-founder and CEO, BudgIT
  • Jacqui Park, CEO, The Walkley Foundation
  • Latoya Peterson, Deputy Editor, Digital Innovation, ESPN
  • Kalli Purie, Vice-Chairperson, India Today Group
  • Noemí Ramírez, Chief Digital Officer, PRISA News
  • Maria Ressa, CEO & executive director, Rappler
  • Dmitry Shishkin, Digital Editor, Languages, BBC World Service