Telling Poop Jokes in Spanish

ethanaustin
Startups and Burritos
2 min readMay 8, 2016

Two days ago I wrote about how we made our first Spanish joke and it felt like a big deal.

Technically, it was Brittany who made the joke and I just took half credit for it. And I’ll be honest with you. I was a little jealous. I wanted to make Spanish jokes too.

Well, for those of you keeping score at home (read: none of you) I am proud to announce that I made my first joke. We are now officially a real deal, two joke family.

The joke took place here.

It was a poop joke.

Then I fell asleep.

I had spent so much mental energy coming up with my foreign language joke that I had nothing left in me.

(The giant, 20 oz coco-lemonade that I had just gulped down at the bookstore may have also been a contributing factor).

Truthfully though, I can fall asleep anywhere. I only have 5 real talents in life and being able to fall asleep anywhere is near the top of the list.

Unfortunately for me (perhaps fortunately for anyone reading this) one of Brittany’s many talents and interests in life is photo documenting my naps. The second I fall asleep, Brittany is there, quick to the draw with her iPhone 5 like an exceptionally underfunded National Geographic photographer filming a rare beast in the wild.

She has a whole folder of these photos that she says might one day be the photo montage at my funeral. I’d be okay with that. I think it would be funny. No other pictures. Just me sleeping, mouth agape, in various places around the world.

People would say things like “he slept a good life.”

Then they’d eat deli spread.

A part of me also hopes that at least one person at my funeral might also say “not only did he sleep a good life, he once told a poop joke in Spanish.”

--

--

ethanaustin
Startups and Burritos

Director @Techstars, LA. Previously Co-founder @GiveForward. Likes burritos. Dislikes injustice.