How Penn State students feel about returning to class in person

Nick Arriviello
statecollegespark
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2022

STATE COLLEGE — It would appear that Penn State students are split on their opinions on whether the University should be returning to in-person learning or remaining online as COVID-19 cases have previously been on the rise due to the Omicron variant.

In the prior fall semester, Penn State primarily held classes in person while some teachers provided a hybrid experience with both Zoom and in-person learning available. The Omicron variant, however, was discovered relatively late into the fall semester; the first case in the United Staes being confirmed Dec. 1. 2021, according to the CDC.

CJ Rome is a fourth year at Penn State with a major in communications. “Last semester I felt ten times more comfortable with taking classes in person because there wasn’t this highly infective variant. My main concern is that I don’t want to miss out on a week or two of classes if I test positive; just think there should be a hybrid option at the very least,” Rome said.

Rome is not the only Penn State student that voices the desire for online learning or a hybrid option.

Ryan Twohig is a third year at Penn State that is currently studying business. “Prior to the Omicron variant I had only gotten COVID once, and that was while we were still online. Over Christmas, my entire family had gotten COVID, and I had gotten it a second time. I just thought it seemed somewhat strange for the University to allow in-person learning with such a contagious variant of COVID,” Twohig said.

Some students, however, are thrilled to be returning to in-person learning. Most students that look forward to returning to campus said that they are able to learn more and retain more information in a classroom setting.

Amanda Chizmar is a fourth year that studies business at Penn State and fully supports returning to in-class learning. “Well I am fully vaccinated and I feel confident with its ability to protect me from COVID, and I’ve just always been able to learn more efficiently in class because it forces me to pay attention, unlike Zoom,” Chizmar said.

According to the CDC, between Dec. 1. 2021 and Jan. 10. 2022, there had been over 12 million new cases that had been reported, however it now finally appears that cases are declining and more teachers are returning to their in-person lectures. Additionally, Penn State has reported that up to 87% of University Park students are now vaccinated.

Jordyn Reece is a second year at Penn State and is currently undecided, and she also looks forward to being able to return to her lectures on campus. “For the first two weeks, I only had one class in person, and I struggled during my first year with Zoom classes so I’m happy to see that we are returning to classes on campus,” Reece said.

Kaelen McMullin is a fourth year at Penn State and majors in nursing, and she provided her insight on whether she believes classes should be held in person or online.

“I think it’s completely appropriate that we hold classes in person, but it is important for students and faculty to realize how important it is to get fully vaccinated. Those who are choosing to not get vaccinated are not only putting themselves at risk, but other students as well,” McMullin said.

--

--