Me, Myself, and I

Mason Benovy
statecollegespark
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2021

Hello everyone!

My name is Mason Benovy, and I am a senior at Penn State studying Journalism and French. I was born and raised in Hershey, Pennsylvania, so Penn State has always been around.

When I’m not in class, I love traveling, reading, hanging with my friends, thrift shopping and doing the “abundance” of things central PA has to offer. (sigh.)

Although I truly have no idea how I want to spend my life, I know I want to spend it in a major city. Preferably Paris or New York.

Me at the Louvre Museum in Paris, January of 2020.

Before COVID-19 hit, I was abroad in Paris and fell in love with the city again after not visiting for a few years. I’ve been taking French since I was 12, and I aboslutely love the culture, language and everything the country has to offer. I was orginally supposed to stay in France until August, as I have an internship lined up in the communcations department of a company based in Paris. That has been pushed to the back burner until the world can get its shit together.

As for writing specifically, early in high school I became involved with my high school’s newspaper. As the 2016 election began I realized how much of a passion I have for politics, and how easily I could combine that with my love for writing as well. I was my high school’s political editor for two years, and transitioned into writing for the Daily Collegian for a short amount of time when I started at Penn State.

To this day, politics and social justice are my favorite topics to write and read about. On a completely different subject, fashion and trends are a big interest of mine as well. Being in the fashion capital of the world allowed me to explore my personal style in a much bigger way than how I normally feel in Pennslyvania.

Moving forward I want to find a career that combines at least some of my passions. Whether it be fashion, politics, writing, social justice or anything in between, I want to land in a job I feel true passion for.

--

--