Meet Jeff Hodgdon: Penn State junior and COMM 460W student

Jeff Hodgdon
statecollegespark
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

Hey all! My name’s Jeff Hodgdon. I’m State College native and current Penn State junior majoring in digital and print journalism with a minor in anthropology.

Some things to know about me are: I love photography, enjoy making bad music, hate the Baltimore Ravens, and one day hope to get a book deal so great it puts me into a state of semi-permanent retirement.

Until then, it’s safe to say I’ll be using my degrees to share as many stories as I can.

Me at Graffiti Alley in Toronto, Canada

Ultimately, I’d like to pursue a career where I can document underrepresented people and cultures for publications like National Geographic, but it would be a lie if I said I don’t also consider becoming a sports photographer.

Though the contrast between the two careers is rather stark, sports journalism has grown on me ever since I joined the PSU Underground.

I’m currently the assistant sports editor for the organization and have done everything from sports photography to social media management for the sports section.

The most memorable experience from my time at the Underground would have to be covering last years Penn State Men’s Lacrosse game against Yale. Not only was I there for sports photography, but for reporting and social media updates as well.

As I juggled the duty of capturing the live action with taking detailed notes with keeping socials up to date, I couldn’t help but think how cool journalism could be.

Despite all my work in sports journalism, I don’t actually follow sports in the news as much. Often, I find myself reading articles about the current state of national politics or the latest controversy in the gaming industry.

Well, that’s enough about me. I’m looking forward to covering more about Penn State and its community this semester!

--

--