Penn State Juniors’ Perspectives on Graduating.

Sierra Cucciardi
statecollegespark
Published in
6 min readApr 23, 2022

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.- Penn State’s seniors are in the process of attending their last classes, studying for their last exams and spending their last weeks with their beloved friends before graduation.

Soon enough, the juniors will be in their shoes and will have to take on the real world as well.

Graduation season is just around the corner for Penn State’s spring class of 2022. Their lives truly move into gear after their commencements as they learn how to navigate the real world. The years below them are also moving up and are inching closer to the end goal.

Penn State juniors are in that grey area where they still have a full year to go, but are so close to the finish line. With that comes preparation for what may come after graduation, ending off strong academically and a sense of denial because their undergraduate experience is coming to a close.

Three juniors at Penn State talked about their thoughts and feelings towards being rising seniors.

Caroline first gave her perspective.

Caroline Spengler (junior- public relations) is a third year student who is not fully sure where the next year will take her. She enjoys Penn State’s atmosphere and is not sure if she will be ready to let go of that within the course of a year.

“I am just as passionate about this school as the day I walked in and I will probably feel the same when I walk out,” Spengler said.

Spengler has always looked forward to seeing her friends everyday and is soaking that in before the friend group moves all over the state after graduation. Not having those people as accessible will be a tough pill for her to swallow…

“Not having my core group around is going to be difficult. I know they will always be a phone call away, but we will all be busy with our own responsibilities like jobs and deadlines.”

Spengler hopes to work in social media after college. Her dream is to work for a company like Instagram or Pinterest, but she expects to start small at first.

“I have big dreams for my future job, but I will literally take any job after graduation. Unless it’s in Idaho or somewhere secluded.… But besides that, I will take anything thrown my way,” Spengler said.

As for involvement, Spengler has no prior involvement in Penn State clubs, but wants to be more active next year.

“I regret not being involved sooner, but graduation has been a wake up call for me. I need to build my resume before I graduate.”

Spengler does think that the idea of graduating will settle in more as the next two semesters take their course, but as of now, she is not thinking about that.

“Ignorance is bliss right now, but eventually I will snap into reality. I just don’t want the thought of leaving Penn State to consume me just yet.

Her mother Grace Spengler gave her thoughts about her daughter graduating.

“Me and the rest of the family are so proud of her and her accomplishments at Penn State. We know she will do great things after graduation,” Grace Spengler said.

Next, Brianna gave her feelings on leaving.

Brianna Dinsmore (junior- nursing) is another junior who had a bittersweet outlook on their graduation.

Dinsmore is studying at Penn State’s Hershey branch campus fulfilling her nursing requirements. Because of already having to leave her friends back at University Park for her junior year, she is no stranger to adjusting to change.

“Leaving for Hershey was a good prep for what it will probably feel like for when I leave for graduation. That being said, it will be very difficult,” Dinsmore said.

Even though the thought of graduation is bittersweet for Dinsmore, she thinks having a whole year to prep for that moment is enough time for it to sink in.

“I am not ready for my time here to be over, but that is also because I have another year to go,” she said. “Next year, I think I will be ready.”

Dinsmore’s aspirations for after graduation are to work at Mount Sinai in Manhattan. She grew up in Brooklyn and would love to work somewhat close to home.

“Being close to my family is very important to me. I have always wanted to live in the city too so I hope that happens,” Disnmore said.

Dinsmore is also involved in the Student Nurses’ Association at Penn State and feels like joining the society has helped her get close with fellow student nurses.

Dinsmore, while uneasy about leaving Penn State, is also excited for the end of test taking and endless nights studying. Her major requires an intense workload, so she is somewhat ready for that part of her undergraduate experience to end.

“I am excited for more hands-on work instead of busy work. Not saying I won’t be busy working at a hospital, but I won’t have to study terms and prepare for tests any more.”

Dinsmore’s mother Sarah Dinsmore is proud of her daughter for her accomplishments and knows she will do big things.

“Brianna is so smart and accomplishes anything she puts her mind to. I see a bright future ahead of her. Our family is so proud,” Sarah Dinsmore said.

Finally, Samantha Carr gave her insight.

Samantha Carr (junior-English) also gave her thoughts on approaching her final year at Penn State.

“I have gained many lifelong friends through the years and I am definitely not ready to leave yet,” Carr said.

Carr has made most of her friends through the Thespian Society and the Creative Writing Club. She is happy to have met people who enjoy the same things she does.

“It is so fun to have friends who have similar career goals as you. We all help each other grow and bond over our love for similar stuff,” Carr said.

As for her future, Carr wants to do many things and has not landed on a set path.

“I love anything involved with arts and creativity, so I will do anything that revolves around that.”

Carr is from Allentown, Pa.,. and would not mind working back at home after college.

“I would like to work in a city one day, but I also like where I grew up. I will probably move back there after college,” Carr said.

Writing is one of her passions and she hopes to have her work published one day. Carr enjoys fantasy fiction writing and will continue to write even if her future job does not align with that.

“Growing up, Sam always either had her head in a book or a pen in her hand. She is an amazing writer and I have no doubt that she will go on to big things when she graduates,” Michelle Carr, her mother said.

Carr also emphasized how she wants to live in the now rather than the future.

“While it is important to think about the next step, I want to savor my last year here without worrying too much about what the future holds,” Carr said. “Everything will all work out.”

--

--