Penn State students going home for spring break

Timothy Lonas
statecollegespark
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2022
Via Scott Webb from Unsplash

Many students are looking to get away when spring break rolls around to a vacation spot to relax. What about the students choosing to go home?

Last year, about 60% of colleges eliminated spring break due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Penn State followed suit, opting for smaller, shorter breaks or wellness days during the middle of the week. This year, Penn State has reinstated spring break and students are free to travel for spring break.

For Penn State students staying home for spring break, Casey Sattanella said that COVID-19 shouldn’t be an issue for the students going away for spring break with the warm weather. Regardless, he said that he’s still going home to see his family.

“I’ve never done anything big for spring break and this year won’t be any different.” Sattanella (junior-accounting) said.

On average, a college student spends 14 hours a week studying. With more free time over spring break, Sattanella has said that he doesn’t have any big assignments to do. His professors said they’ll “start back up” after spring break.

Alicia Armstrong is the exact opposite. After her plans to go to her friends’ beach house were ruined because of wisdom teeth surgery, she said she will spend her time on her school work, in particular with her future in her major.

“I’m gonna spend most of my time getting caught up with my school work and how to get more involved in my major,” Armstrong (sophomore-video and film production) said. “I interned with the women’s basketball team and I will be going over the clips from it.”

As for COVID-19 concerns, hospitalizations have gone down to 37,000 as of Feb. 23, 10,000 less than the previous week. As of Feb. 27, new COVID-19 cases have dropped to 449,402, a 41% decrease from the previous week.

Chase Rensberger, who is spending spring break at home, says despite the potential concerns COVID-19 could bring on, college students should be able to have fun if they choose to travel.

“I think everyone should be able to have fun,” Rensberger (junior-computer science) said. “Students should be able to relieve stress and enjoy themselves after some tough semesters.”

On the contrary, despite the decline of hospitalizations and new cases, Ava Kidd said she is going home for spring break due to concerns about COVID-19 and a job offer from back home in Scranton.

“I’m a hypochondriac, so I still have concerns about going many places right now,” Kidd (sophomore-public relations) said. “I was also offered to do dog sitting over break, so I can go home and make some money.”

Since the Fall 2021 semester, Penn State has enforced a mask mandate inside of its buildings but the university has allowed in-person classes. 96% of classes during the fall semester were in-person.

Noah Rasero said that he hasn’t gone home all semester because of school work and wanting to be around his friends. He lives in Kennett Square, which is 45 minutes outside of Philadelphia and a 2 hour, 48-minute drive to State College.

“I’m going home to see my family and my dog,” Rasero (junior-supply chain management) said. “My teachers have been very lenient this semester, so I won’t have much homework to do over break.”

For Alannah Matheny, who lives in northeast Philadelphia, she said she has gone home multiple times this semester and it will feel like a ”usual trip” home.

“I definitely need a break and I can’t wait to go home,” Matheny (sophomore-public relations and criminology) said. “I won’t have any major assignments as my one midterm is the week before spring break.”

--

--