The Face Of The Bar

Mike Gordon-Martin
statecollegespark
Published in
7 min readApr 22, 2022

STATE COLLEGE, Pa. — Picture it! It is April 12 at Lion’s Den. It is Den Tuesday. Den Tuesday is their most popular day. This is day is popular because of the two-dollar drinks.

Three women are working the top bar: Ansley Forrest, Angelina Acosta, and Marijke Pecoraro. They are being bombarded with inebriated patrons looking for drinks.

One patron asks Acosta for two Long Island Iced Teas. She nods and asks the person next to him what he wants. The other patron wants a vodka sour. Patron wanting the long islands feels it is taking too long and asks Forrest for the same order. Acosta runs over and stops Forrest.

“I’m getting your drinks. Please be patient”, Acosta says.

She shakes her head in frustration and rolls her eyes. Pecoraro shrugs while trying to cheer her up.

Bouncers might be the backbone of a bar. However, the bartenders are the face of a bar.

Some bartenders in downtown State College are students. Some might wonder why students become a bartender. Rachel Burger is a second-year student majoring in human development and family studies.

She works as a server at The Corner Room and as a bartender at The Basement.

“Honestly, I got a job as a bartender for two reasons. One, the money and tips are good and two, I love the environment,” Burger said.

Is it that cut and dry? There are some pros and some cons.

The Den

Angelina Acosta is a fourth-year student majoring in journalism. Acosta started working at the Lion’s Den in her freshman year. She lives with fellow Den bartenders Ansley Forrest and Marijke Pecoraro. Owners Chris and Bridgette Rosengrant credit these three women with revitalizing Lion’s Den’s popularity.

Acosta became a bartender for a variety of reasons. One reason was to not solely rely on her parents for money. Another reason was to learn how to make drinks and understand different types of alcohol and what to mix them with.

“My sister actually is the one who told me to be able to work at the bar after that I just applied and got the job pretty easily. She told me her friend made a lot of money working there,” Acosta said.

Acosta enjoys her time at Lion’s Den. She has met amazing friends that she considers lifelong friends.

“I’ve also learned a lot of leadership skills since I’m now the longest working bartender at the Den,” Acosta said.

She likes that the money is great. She mentioned how she has made more money here than in other part-time jobs. On a good night, she might make around 300 dollars in tips.

She considers bartending like being at a party while making money. She highlighted that it is a great place to network.

“Whether it’s alumni or parents or professors, I have met people who have been there to witness my work ethic and know it’ll benefit me in the future,” Acosta said.

Ansley Forrest is a fourth-year student majoring in corporate innovation and entrepreneurship. Acosta encouraged Forrest to start working at Lion’s Den in their freshman year.

Similar to Acosta, Forrest wanted to become a bartender to make money and be financially comfortable in college.

“Also, I wanted to meet people. I never joined a sorority or was part of a sports team. I figured that by joining a staff I would make friends and feel a sense of community. I was absolutely right,” Forrest said.

Forrest likes the connections she has made from this experience. She named 10 of the 30 people she has met from this experience that she would consider true friends. She likes the fact that she has learned the ins and the outs of bartending. So, if she ever needs a part-time job in the future, it will come in handy.

Similar to Acosta, Forrest likes the money. “I like having this financial backbone that prevents me from getting stressed out about spending money. It also allows me to not feel ‘guilty’ when I spend a lot when I am out,” Forrest said.

The Phyrst

Fiona Warren is a fourth-year transfer student majoring in psychology. Warren spent two years at Penn State Brandywine. She originally majored in animal studies and played on the softball team.

“I have always wanted to become a bartender. My parents always suggested I go into the restaurant industry, for I was not making the best money at grocery store jobs. I began at a golf course, but I mostly poured beers and made Bloody Marys (with pre-made mix). I just wanted to make fun drinks! It was a great introduction to the bar industry, though. Golfers tend to tip better,” Warren said.

Warren started working at The Phyrst in her junior year. Similar to Forrest and Acosta, Warren needed money. She explained how expensive her rent is. She needed a popular place to work that could pay the bills.

“My rent is over 1000 dollars. I remember in two nights, I covered my rents in tips,” Warren said.

The Phyrst runs in the blood. “My older brother used to bounce at The Phyrst, and he suggested I go in for an application,” Warren said.

She also explained how she needed friends. Since she was a transfer student, she did not have many friends. “I felt working at a bar that was as well known as The Phyrst would give me an incredible college experience while teaching me how to be a better worker. I have learned so much and I have also grown a lot since I started the job,” Warren said.

The Cons and The Pet Peeves

A major pet peeve is the lack of tipping. College students are not known for tipping well. However, there are other pet peeves these bartenders experience.

Marijke Pecoraro is a fourth-year student majoring in kinesiology. Similar to her roommates, Forrest and Acosta, she bartends at Lion’s Den. Pecoraro highlighted her one major pet peeve.

“Chain ordering! This is when you get a drink and then you make it for them, bring it over, ask for payment but then all of a sudden they want another drink. It is a lot of just walking back and forth and gets annoying,” Pecoraro said.

Acosta works with her boyfriend at Lion’s Den so she does not like being hit on.

“My biggest pet peeve is gross men. Sometimes I’ve felt very disrespected by men who are trying to hit on me. I’ve learned to take care of it by kicking them out,” Acosta said.

Forrest and Warren both mentioned they miss missing out on certain events. When they started they both suffered from FOMO (fear of missing out). Over time, they got used to it.

Forrest’s biggest pet peeve is dealing with disrespectful people.

“Our work environment encourages drinking, many times people get out of hand. It can get a little tiring interacting with people who lack respect for those in the service industry,” Forrest said.

Warren also does not like disrespectful people. She also does not like not receiving a thank you.

“I love small talk, I try to make my customers feel respected. So when it’s busy and I’m busting my ass to get you a drink, I genuinely appreciate a quick thank you,” Warren said.

Warren mentioned her biggest pet peeve is closing out after every drink.

“We do not have a card minimum, but honey, if you order a green tea shot and close your tab just to turn around and order a vodka soda, that irks me,” Warren said.

Life-Changing Experience

Liz Gordon is a fourth-year student majoring in communications. Gordon started working at The Social Food and Drink in her junior year.

“Bartending has changed my life because I can talk to anyone outside of work and I find myself able to make effective small talk when needed. Overall my communication skills have gotten a lot better since I started bartending a year ago,” Gordon said.

Forrest will cherish her time at Lion’s Den. It made her into a more outgoing and confident person.

“Those are qualities every bartender should have. I mean you learn it,” Forrest said.

Similar to Forrest, Pecoraro believes this job has made her more confident. She also believes she is more mentally strong. They both feel they are a part of a family.

“I think for a long time I didn’t know where I belonged in college and thought a sorority was my best option. But when I decided not to rush and stick to bartending I was worried I was missing out on going out with friends. Now I’ve become best friends with the people I work with and we do absolutely everything together. I wouldn’t trade my relationships with my coworkers for anything in the world,” Acosta said.

Warren is appreciative of her time.

“Bartending has definitely changed my life, and I think it was for the better. I have learned so much about myself and my capabilities….Yes, it can be tough and most times I am so tired when I go to work, but every shift has been worth it. Every single night is different, both in good or not-so-good ways, but I will cherish my time at The Phyrst forever”.

--

--