These Penn State students are immune to spring break fever

Madison Ridge
statecollegespark
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2022

STATE COLLEGE, Pa. — After the loss of Spring Break in 2021, the annual week-long tradition is once again making a comeback for Penn State students from March 6–12, but for these students, spring break is just a reminder of pandemic riddled disappointment.
Sean Murphy, a junior in chemical engineering with a minor in environmental engineering, explained that although he was ready for a break from classes, there was no way he was taking a planned vacation any time soon.
“I always wanted to go on a spring break trip, but honestly right now it just doesn’t seem smart,” Murphy said. “My sister-in-law just had triplets and is still recovering, traveling out of the country with all the variants going around could be dangerous to them.”
Murphy said that instead of going to a warm Florida beach, he intends to stay as safe as possible and quarantine before going to meet his nieces.

Old Main at Penn State University

Throughout the years, spring break has become a beacon of hope for overexerted college students craving some downtime, but the prospects of yet another vacation ruined by Covid-19 can create a reluctance for planning in certain students.
Cassie Wright, a senior double majoring in broadcast journalism and political science, explained that planning a trip was not worth the disappointment.
“The idea of sitting on a warm beach for a week sounds great until you start thinking about all the people around you who aren’t being safe,” Wright said. “I double mask everywhere and I’m fully vaccinated, going to a crowded vacation spot could ruin that for me.”
Wright also explained that she spends most of her time at home with her mother and grandmother who adhere to CDC guidelines, and she refuses to bring Covid-19 into their homes.
Alongside Murphy and Wright is Molly Biver, a sophomore in biology who explained that her decision to go home instead of traveling was made early in the year.
“I just want to go home to see my family at this point,” Biver said. “Spring break is such a super-spreader event and the thought of sitting on a beach with hundreds of people makes no sense to me.”
Holden Foster, a freshman in Global and International Studies, was yet another student who showed disinterest in spring-break travel.
“The most I’ll do this year is go home to see my family,” Foster said. “I’m doing what I need to do to be safe and protect myself, I’m not sure about other people.”
Foster said that while he hopes to go on trips in the future, right now traveling outside of the country just does not sound appealing.
While the lack of enthusiasm for spring break was shared between these students, Meg Galbo, a sophomore in criminology, brought this perspective to a dismal level.
“I’m going home for spring break this year instead of traveling,” Galbo said. “When I look at all those people who are making plans I just think, ‘wow, so they’re out having fun while I’m home being safe,’ and you know it kind of sucks.”
Galbo shared these thoughts with Sydney Engleman, an undecided freshman whose exasperation over spring break bled into her voice.
“I’m not traveling, not even going home,” Engleman said with a sigh. “Mostly because of Corona, I just want to stay safe.”
When asked about her feelings towards the other spring-break travelers, Engleman had one point to emphasize.
“For all of us, please, just do what the CDC says,” Engleman said.

--

--