What Penn State Students do on their last Spring Break

Nick Arriviello
statecollegespark
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2022

STATE COLLEGE — For decades at Penn State, fourth year students have celebrated their spring break in many different ways and at many different destinations.

Bethany Olivier is a senior at Penn State, majoring in architecture and has plans to rent out a house in Miami, Florida.

“Well it’s my roommates’ last year; unfortunately architecture takes five years, but we’re all looking forward to our last spring break together in Miami,” Olivier said.

Rachel Rood, a fourth year that is majoring in education and will be graduating this year, is one of Bethany’s roommates and will be joining her on Olivier’s vacation to Miami.

“I feel like it’s our last chance to really have one last good time together as friends, almost sisters, before we go out into the real world and before we start to get old,” Rood said.

Rood and Olivier are not the only fourth year students that are planning to get away on a nice vacation for likely their last spring break.

Anthony Barrett is a fourth year student at Penn State and member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity, majoring in finance. Barrett will be traveling to Cancun, Mexico, at the Royal Islander Hotel with two of his fraternity brothers.

“I’ve gone on vacation every year while at Penn State, but this year, I wanted to go big because most of my best friends are graduating this year,” Barrett said.

There are also other students that are going to “go big” and head to Cancun, Mexico.

Lily Hildreth is a fourth year that is majoring in management at Penn State and will be staying at the Omni Hotel and Villas, only a little over a mile from where Barrett will be staying.

“I’m never going to have another chance on a vacation like this until I’m older, so I’m very excited to be going to Cancun with my best friend. Both of my parents went on vacation for their senior year, and they wanted me to have the same great experience,” Hildreth said.

Even Penn State alumni have partaken in going on extravagant vacations for their fourth year while on spring break.

Andy Garrity is a Penn State alumnus that graduated Penn State in 1990 and majored in German and literature.

“I remember when we went to Cancun for our senior year, and looking back at it now, I’m so glad I went; maybe a bit too much alcohol but a great time,” Garrity said.

However, not all students will be traveling for this spring break, as several students have opted out for staying at home.

Tyler Shaughnessy is a fourth year at Penn State, majoring in biology, and will be staying in his hometown in Wallingford, Pennsylvania.

“Honestly, what I miss most is my mom’s cooking and my own bed. Plus, I don’t think I have enough in my bank account anyway, even if I wanted to go somewhere,” Shaughnessy said.

Cameron Glover is a fourth year at Penn State that is majoring in communications and works at Starbucks on Garner street. He will also be returning to his hometown in Collegeville, Pennsylvania.

“I just want to go home and see my dogs, and my family I guess,” Glover said laughing. “I just need a break from State College, both school and work.”

It seems that many Penn State students will always have their own preference when it comes to what to do for spring break whether it be a lavish vacation in the Caribbean, or at home with family, friends and “dogs” as Glover said.

--

--