All Beards Are Not Made Equal

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded
Published in
3 min readFeb 4, 2016

Summer 2014 was a good season. I was living in a small fishing town on the South West coast of England. Just a mile from my house, a beautiful seawater pool. The water, crystal clear. The weather, beautiful every day. I think during the summer of 2014 we left the office before 3pm nearly every day. We dived, we swam, we loved life.

During this time, inspired by my favorite bearded barista, I decided to grow a proper beard for the first time. I had never been one to shave that often, but I would never let my beard get longer than half an inch.

I grew my beard over that summer but it really did not live up to expectations. It didn’t really take the shape I was imagining, growing out in every direction. My hair generally has a tendency to be quite curly. Therefore my beard turned into something resembling an unkempt afro. It was wiry and didn’t feel nice. After some pressure from family I went to the barber shop. By the end of the summer my beard was gone.

If you have ever been in the sea daily for even a few days, you will know that sea water can make your hair very dry. I was also washing my beard once or twice a day. The shower gel I was using was generic shower gel full of chemicals that strip the skin of it’s natural oils. With all of this combined I was setting myself up for disaster from the start.

Back then I was uneducated. I thought that I would just stop shaving and a majestic beard would appear on my face.

Since then I learned that it takes more than simply not shaving to grow a beard that I can be proud of. I quit using generic shampoos and shower gels on my face and now only use 100% natural products that are going to nourish my beard. I also use beard oil daily and a beeswax based beard balm when I need an extra layer of protection. I have created a beard grooming routine that works for me and keeps my beard in great shape.

I now have the beard that I always imagined having. It makes me feel so good. My self confidence has gone up massively and I am constantly getting positive comments about my beard.

It doesn’t take a lot to make a massive difference. I love my beard grooming routine. It makes me feel refreshed, confident and ready to face the day.

All beards are not made equal. Make sure yours is the best it can be.

--

--

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded

Based in London, we create high quality hair, beard and moustache products for gentlemen. We ship worldwide.