Beard Neglect Whilst Travelling & How To Avoid It

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded
Published in
5 min readFeb 4, 2016

When it comes to growing and maintaining a beard it takes more than just ditching the razor and letting it grow. If you want to have a beautiful beard that is the envy of men around you, it needs to be looked after. You need a beard grooming routine that works for you.

I am a real creature of habit and so I love my beard grooming routine. It’s sacred and dependable. Not only is it something that I can rely on, it makes me feel so damn good. I’m literally on top of the world when I have washed, oiled and combed my face fuzz.

However, there is a real risk when I travel. My routine goes out of sync and my normal products are not at my fingertips. I tend to be very busy when I am traveling and so things can be easily forgotten. When you fail to plan, you plan to fail and could easily return from a trip with a dry, scratchy beard that resembles wire wool.

I highly recommend having a beard grooming plan for when you are traveling so that your beard doesn’t get neglected. You don’t want your trip ending in regret.

Whether you are heading on a business trip, traveling home for the holidays, or on your summer break, here are some thoughts on how to avoid beard neglect whilst traveling:

Packing

In the same way that it’s crucial to pack the right clothing for the sort of trip you are going on, you need to pack the right items to look after your beard. At home you may have multiple beard products in large containers. That is not always practical whilst travelling so sometimes you have to compromise. Below are my must-have items for travelling:

Beard Oil

I always take beard oil on my trips as it’s a product that I use at least once a day. Because I want to travel light I always take beard oil in 30ml lotion pump bottles. Not only are they a very good size for travel, they are the least messy bottles I’ve found. They dispense beard oil in a very clean way without the bottle getting oily, plus have a very secure lid for extra protection. Currently we sell our signature Peppermint & Lemon Peel Beard Oil and Argan Beard Oil in this style of bottle.

Beard Comb

You need a beard comb whilst you are traveling. It’s so crucial! But, your big sexy wooden beard comb might not be ideal for packing light. When I am on a trip I either take the KENT Extra Small Beard & Moustache Comb, or the KENT Folding Pocket Comb. These easily tuck away in a pocket or compartment in your back pack and will take care of your combing needs. For me it’s the Extra Small beard comb in the summer and the folding comb in the winter. The folding comb has slightly wider teeth which are a bit more forgiving on the winter beard, which can sometimes be a little drier.

Beard Shampoo

Ok, so you totally need some 100% natural beard wash to take on your travels. But you certainly can’t take that gigantic bottle. There are some good travel-size soaps on the market which are great for beards, my favourite is the Dr Bronner’s Pure Castile Liquid Soap — it comes in a variety of scents and a cute little 59ml bottle. If you have a big bottle of your favourite beard wash at home though, you can easily pick up cheap travel size bottles which you can fill with your favourite beard wash. It’s all about planning. Just pick something up on Amazon a few days ahead and you are ready to keep that beard clean and awesome!

Moustache Wax

A small tin of moustache wax is going to helpful in a number of ways on your travels. We sell a small tin of beautiful beeswax and lemon moustache wax which is the perfect size for travel. There are few things that I find more annoying than getting moustache hairs caught in my mouth when I am trying to eat. I truly rely on moustache wax to keep my moustache tame (as well as some other stray beard hairs that need encouragement!). Your moustache wax + beard oil mixed together can also create a makeshift balm. This is going to be a lifesaver if you are traveling somewhere cold! Just take a small amount of wax in your palm, add a little beard oil and mix together with your fingers. Apply this to your beard before your go out in the cold and you are set!

Accessibility

If you are going on a road trip or taking flights you want to make sure that your beard grooming products are easy to get to. There is no point in them being at the bottom of your suitcase. If you are carrying a backpack or messenger bag, put them in a pocket that you can easily get to. If you pack the items that I have suggested above they should not take up much room at all.

Remember if you are flying and putting items in your hand luggage that in most airports liquids needs to be under 100ml and presented in a clear bag.

Grooming Time

You must plan in time to groom your beard every day. Sometimes this is going to be hard, but if you plan the time in every day during your trip, you are more likely to do it. I’d suggest setting aside just a few minutes every morning to wash, oil and comb your beard. Even if you would normally spend longer, and perhaps apply oil in the evening too, at least once a day will keep your beard in a reasonable condition until your trip has finished.

I would recommend that you stick to this whilst on a road trip or flying also. Even if all you can do is apply a little beard oil and comb it through with a pocket comb once a day, it will leave your beard nourished and you feeling good!

Safe Travels

I hope that these thoughts have been helpful. Remember, it’s all about the planning! Have safe travels!

--

--

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded

Based in London, we create high quality hair, beard and moustache products for gentlemen. We ship worldwide.