Review: The Whisker Dam

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded
Published in
3 min readFeb 4, 2016

The other day I was in a store buying myself a new pair of shoes (DC skateboard shoes — so nice!). The man behind the counter was just the sort of gent that I love to see on our Instagram feed. He had an epic moustache which was styled beautifully. I decided to strike up a conversation. “Hey! I love your moustache. What wax do you use?”. “I don’t” he replied, “I use hairspray”. There are so many reasons why this is awful. I mean, can you imagine spraying hairspray towards your mouth? I cringe just to think about it. But it does beg the question; why are some men with moustaches going to these extreme lengths?

Well, lets face it. Styling and maintaining a moustache can be a nightmare. Going through a process of training your moustache hair to go in the direction you want it to is certainly a good first step. Then, obviously finding a moustache wax that gives you the hold that you need is extremely important. My personal preference is for a natural beeswax moustache wax. Beeswax provides a really good firm hold and also adds a layer of protection to your moustache hair. This is especially helpful in colder weather where beard and moustache hair can easily be damaged.

But once you have your moustache styled in the morning, how do you manage to keep it in good shape throughout the day? Besides topping up your moustache wax when required, there is a cool item you can use which helps defend against one of the biggest threats to moustache perfection: drinking!

If you are a bearded gent or a man who sees Movember as a year-round event, this item is going to change your life!

Being from the westcountry of the UK I love having a pint of cider on a night out (in fact, any time of the day!), but drinking from a pint glass is extremely hazardous when it comes to my well-groomed moustache. If I’m not careful my moustache can start looking a bit worse-for-wear after a pint or two. With the Whisker Dam, however, I don’t have this problem!

The Whisker Dam is a beautiful copper device that fits on any pint-sized glass. As it says on the tin, it forms a dam, allowing a space for the drink to flow, but at the same time fully protecting your moustache from the liquid.

It really is a splendid device which is extremely comfortable to use. In fact, I might go as far as saying that I find it more comfortable drinking from a pint glass with the Whisker Dam than without.

Not only is the Whisker Dam practical, it looks really cool too. Made of 100% copper it has a real vintage, hipster feel to it, right down to the packaging. Plus, you can now get a beautiful leather case to protect the Whisker Dam as you carry it around on your person.

In my opinion every gent who cares about keeping his moustache looking consistently awesome should have one of these! If you are looking for the perfect gift for a moustached man in your life, look no further, it will definitely be appreciated.

The Whisker Dam is available online at www.whiskerdam.com

--

--

The Old Street Barber Co.
Stay Bearded

Based in London, we create high quality hair, beard and moustache products for gentlemen. We ship worldwide.