8 things to do as a wannabe local in Dharamshala

Rekha Shetty
Stay On Skill
Published in
7 min readSep 4, 2017

Have you observed how the world is becoming a place of hatred? Never were we this angry, aggressive or intolerant towards each other. At the drop of a hat, we have people getting on to each other. And, while this is happening in one part of the world, in other part, there are strangers humble enough to trust each other and open up their life. I was part of one such world of strangers who now, have become friends. I met these amazing people on my recent trip to Dharamshala, where I was a guest at their house. They provided me with a room to stay and in exchange, I shared one of my skills with them. Interesting, isn’t it? I thought so too, that’s why I were happy to be part of this concept.

Few months back, I got a mail from Stay On Skill informing about my selection for India Tour 2017. Stay On Skill is a platform that allows travelers to barter their skills for a stay, thus building a community of like-minded people keen on learning different skills and exploring the world in a different way. It’s a win-win for both the host and the traveler. The host gets a chance to learn a new skill and the traveller gets a stay, along with an insider’s tips and guidance on exploring.

Meet The Good Host

(From top left) — Me, Subashji, Sonika, Rohini, Aloka and Puja

My host in Dharamshala was Puja Anand, her lovely daughter Aloka and mother Dr. Anand. They stay in a beautiful village called Mohali overlooking the enchanting Manuni Khad. Puja’s abode is a powerhouse of energy which easily gets transmitted onto anybody entering the house. It’s a happy place with happy people, which also include her extended family Sonika, Rohini and Manju, fearless, young women from the nearby villages. There are very few people who find joy in simplest things and Puja’s family is one such example. They are content with whatever they have. Frankly, I think my trip wouldn’t have been this beautiful if it wouldn’t have been for them.

I loved everything about Puja’s house, but the best part for me is the gorgeous view of Manuni Khad from her backyard. It was my everyday ritual to sit there listening to the burbling of the mad rapids while; the vastness of the clear blue sky mesmerized me. There are trips then there are trips that are special to you, this was one such trip. This trip was different for many reasons, one of the biggest reason is it made me feel more like a local, or lets say a wannabe local. I kind of had a taste of local life. Here’s what I did to feel more local and less as a traveler, perhaps in your next trip, you could try doing them too:

1. Being Local

Games we play with her neighbourhood Bhaiya

Imagine visiting the local shopkeeper for grocery shopping or exchanging morning greetings with the neighbours or having a conversation with the house gardener. Well, when you start doing such routine things during your trip, you are entitled to be somewhat local. I went there as a tourist, but came back as a local, maybe because I got the chance to spend my days as I would do it in my own city. Mingling with the people around is a good way to feel part of that place.

2. Walk in the Woods

I love exploring places on foot. It gives me a sense of freedom to enjoy the place at my own pace, so obviously I was more than happy to go on all the walks that Puja took me to. So, there were days when we used to stroll around the nearby villages and exchange the customary greeting of “Namastey” with the native residents we met on our way. And on some days, we would just take off on a whim to lesser-known mountains filled with leeches in search of the enthralling waterfalls. While exploring these paths, we would often take turns into either transforming ourself into a leech fighting warrior or into a happy kid plucking the figs and wild berries on our way.

3. For the Love of Food

Diverse meal party at Puja’s house
Dinner with Kamla Bhasin and her team

Shamelessly, I admit food is my weakness. In fact, I never leave any chance of exploring any new cuisine, food joints or a new dish. So, when Puja said that the famous poet, activist and feminist Kamla Bhasin has invited me to join them for dinner, I didn’t even think twice before saying, “YES.” We chatted, laughed, discussed and shared stories about everything under the sun. From dinner invite to a house party, I was getting luckier. On one of the evenings, Puja and her friends decided on having a house party of home-cooked food. We gorged on the lip-smacking Sorshe Ilish, Dal, Rice, Cherry Parfait and Chocolate Chip Cookies. Try hooking up with a local and you never know, a dinner invite might come on your way.

4. Exploring Dham, a traditional Himachali meal

Dham is a traditional meal that’s often served on important occasions and festivities. It comprises of a full course meal of rice, pulses, dal, rajma, chole, paneer or mixed sabzi and ends with a dessert (sweet rice). I accompanied Puja for a birthday party where I got an opportunity to indulge in Dham. Needless to say, I savored it. And, I have decided next time when I’m in Himachal, I’m going to self-invite me for every dham I come across. On your next trip to Dharamshala, you should probably try getting yourself a Dham invite.

5. Do the Good

Puja is associated with a local NGO called Nishtha, that’s working towards the betterment of the villagers especially women and kids. It also acts as a community centre, where the kids are taught English, computers, arts and crafts and women are empowered with certain skills to make them independent. I had the privilege of spending an afternoon with the excited kids. We taught them to make hand puppets and ended the workshop with a story-telling session. Spend time in a NGO whenever you go on a trip, trust me it will be the best time of your trip. You will not only see the best things, but will also see the harsh realities of that place.

6. The Kitchen Chronicles

Baking with Aloka
Some of our bakes

The best part about my trip was cooking and baking in a stranger’s house. There were initial hiccups of working in an unfamiliar kitchen, but it soon vanished once I started teaching the eager, curious minds. Everyday, we would bake desserts and savory treats. Teaching them and watching them relish the goodies was definitely a high point of my trip. You can try cooking or baking only if you are staying in a homestay. So, on your next trip perhaps you could book a homestay. And you could request the host to allow you to cook or help them in the kitchen, in all probability, the answer would be “YES.”

7. Movie Time for the Movie Buffs

Have you ever tried watching a movie while you are on a trip? I did, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I, along with Anand family and their friends watched the movie “Mom” in the recently opened multiplex Gold Cinema. Unlike, the huge city theatres, this was a small, close to 100 seater theatre fully equipped with all the latest facilities. Try watching a movie in your next trip, it’s fun.

8. Run in the Mountains

Being a fitness enthusiast, I carry my running shoes on every trip. Running on the beautiful mountain, amidst the nature and minus the pollution was a refreshing change from road running. If you are into fitness, you should definitely try indulging in a sport of your liking while travelling. Running and walking are the easiest and simplest ways of exploring the hidden pathways and the bylanes.

I hope you try some of these things in your next trip to get the feeling of being local. To know quick tips to become a pro first time Stay On Skill traveler, click here http://trippinoverlife.com/travel/quick-tips-to-turn-you-into-a-pro-stay-on-skill-traveler/

Note: All my work and images is under copyright. Please contact me if you want to use any of it.

--

--