On a trip to Ooty, the queen of hill stations , with Stay On Skill

Sneha John P
Stay On Skill
Published in
6 min readFeb 23, 2018

Whenever I plan a trip to visit and explore new places, I always look for a hotel where I can get an authentic homely feeling with delicious cuisine. And in Ooty my requirement was fulfilled to perfection by Delightz Inns, a fantastic place with an excellent staff service. The Stay On Skill platform connected me to my host Arun Radhakrishnan, the owner of Delightz Inn -one of the friendliest and best hosts one could hope to meet.

View from Delightz Inn resort

It was late by the time I reached Delightz Inn on a Friday night. I was pleasantly surprised to find missed calls from Delightz Inn who were calling to ensure that I was okay. When I had arrived, I found them waiting for me with a room with complete amenities and afreshly prepared dinner. I was overwhelmed by the hospitality of the Delightz Inn team who took care of me like family.

Views from my room

I got a wake up call at 7 am from reception since I had shared my travel plans with them. I was amazed to see a Kingly breakfast served out in the open garden for me. I enjoyed the morning sun while having my delicious and freshly served breakfast .

My breakfast at Delightz Inn

The Delightz Inn team gave me a map of Ooty and a description of the places nearby. Armed with this knowledge, I set off to explore Ooty.

Wenlock Down 9th Mile

Wenlock Down reminded me of Vagamon. I could see a lot of people especially students who came for excursion, playing in the meadows on that sunny day; a sight which took me back to my own college days.

Tiger Hill Cemetery

I was excited to explore a serene place in Coonoor – Tiger Hill Cemetery. I don’t know why I was afraid to stay there long, but I had a sense of unease the entire time I was there.

Ralliah Dam, Coonoor

Ooty is a popular and crowded destination during the weekends. So I was looking for a calm and peaceful place where i could spend some time in soltitude with nature. My search took me to Ralliah Dam, Coonoor. It was difficult pinpointing the location of the dam via Google maps, so I asked for local guidance and travelled 3 km into the forest to find this amazing place.

Pykara Waterfalls

Pykara waterfalls, Dam and Lake is another attraction of Ooty. It’s difficult to believe that such an amazing waterfall exists in India. The breathtaking vistas appear to be taken from some foreign country.

Pine forest

A trip to Ooty is incomplete without a visit to Pine forest, So that was my next destination. I listened to the tour guides and photographers trying to impress their customers by naming all the movies that were shot there.

Needle Rock View Point

Needle Rock View Point offers a magnificent panorama of the beautiful valley below. The ready accessibility of all the places I visited surprised me, almost like nature had constructed the perfectly designed park.

Kalhatti Waterfalls, Ooty

It was a different experience to walk into the wilderness and discover a waterfall, Kalhatti Falls in Nilgiris. The inclines and declines of the Hill made me tired, but I was refreshed by the sights of this lovely place and by the cool waters in which I took a fun bath.

Glenmorgan Dam

While returning, I saw a board pointing towards a forested path leading to a dam known as Glenmorgan. I questioned whether it would be safe for me to go there, but I was willing to take the risk to satisfy my curiosity. At the end of the road I could see a quiet and amazing place which was unexplored by most of tourists who visit Ooty.

Dolphins Nose

While traveling through the tea estate I chanced upon an amazing view from the road of the waterfall called the Dolphin’s Nose . I don’t remember how much time I spent there enjoying the breathtaking view, but it was a time from my journey that I fondly remember.

Dodda Betta Point

Ooty city can be viewed from the top of Dodda Betta Point, a place which was one of my favourite spots in Ooty and also happened to be near my room at Delightz Inn. So I spent nearly an hour there, taking in the amazing view.

I chose to travel through Mudumalai National Park on the way to Delightz Inn, Ooty. An amazing road trip through the wilderness.

My caretakers at Delightz Inn

A special thanks to Stayonskill, Arun Radhakrishnan and the Delightz Inn team who helped me experience Ooty in all its magnificent splendour.

--

--

Sneha John P
Stay On Skill

Entrepreneur, Mentor, Traveller, Photographer, Foodie, Dreamer, now trying to share my stories as blog.