Improv Comedy is the life skill you are missing.

Joe Thompson
Steel City Improv
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2017

“Oh, I could never improvise. I’m not funny and I have no confidence and honestly I just can’t think fast enough and I’m not a performer and…”

I’ve heard it all. Whenever I suggest people give improv a go, people inundate me with personal flaws or traits that mean they are inadequate to attempt it.

“I am not worthy!” They seem to cry as they list off more and more things; each point on their list creating a larger and larger rift between themselves and the format.

This is particularly true if I’m talking to them after an improv show. “I could never do what you guys just did, I’d be way too scared.”

Stop it.

Let’s get this out of the way right now, watching skilled improvisers should not dissuade you from giving it a go because “they’re so good at it”. Improvisers are not comedy deities or are born with a funny bone no one else has. They have nothing over you other than hours put into the craft and a dedication to learn. It’s the same as any other skill. You work at it until you get good.

“But I can’t get good Joe. I’d be too scared. I’m not funny. I have no confidence. I don’t do well on stage. I’m not fast enough.”

These aren’t barriers to trying improv; they are reasons to learn it. You aren’t ‘funny enough’ to learn improv, you’re good enough at improv to be funny. You don’t ‘have no fear’ before trying the form, the form helps reduce your fear.

Improvisation is, before anything else, a life skill. I regularly get caught up in conversations with other performers where we talk about how much improvisation has changed our lives. It has helped me with collaborative working, it has approved my adaptability and flexibility, it has made me a better teacher and team player, and it has boosted my social abilities and networking skills. More importantly, however, it has taught me to stay firmly in the moment and focus better on the relationships in my life. I listen better. Better communicate what I mean.

Honestly, I could go on.

We are starting to see this acceptance of the tangible usefulness of improv now across the world. It’s being brought into our workplaces, our schools, our communities. We are improving our daily lives with improv.

Being an improv comedian to performance quality is great, its a ton of fun. But that’s not why I tell everyone to try improv. Its primary value is in the ability to help us face our fears, connect with each other on a deeper level and think quicker on our feet.

So try Improv. Now. Like, Today.

GO!!!

If you would like to learn more about the uses of improvisation and it’s values in day today life. Or if you’re seeking improvisation in your school, workplace or commuity. Email me at joe@a-mind-apart.org.uk.

Equally, to find out more about my work with A Mind Apart Theatre Company and the work they do with improv and theatre in general. Go to www.amindapart.org.uk.

To hear me from me follow me on twitter @HumanSpaggheti or follow me on Facebook facebook.com/JoeThompsonComedy

--

--