Indigenizing Academia in the Sciences

A toolkit for bringing two worlds together

SACNAS
STEM and Culture Chronicle
9 min readJun 21, 2016

--

At home

By Joslynn Lee, PhD

As a first-year undergraduate, my mom told me that I needed to come home for my cousin’s kinaalda, a multiday and overnight Navajo ceremony. I was petrified about telling my general chemistry professor I was going to miss a few days of lecture and an exam. Part of me didn’t want to go home because I wanted to do great on the exam to keep my hard-earned A in the course. Part of me wanted to go home, see my family, and be a positive presence in an important community event.

I approached my professor and explained the situation, requesting that I take the exam early if possible. It turned out that she was very understanding and thanked me for being proactive. She told me that students often missed exams and then tried to explain their absence afterward. Eventually, we agreed on terms to allow me to be at home and still take the exam.

This was the first of many similar experiences during my undergraduate and graduate education.

That first year in particular, I felt I was living in two worlds — my Native upbringing and my academic life were completely separate.

But, my parents instilled in me that I needed to earn an education and return to help my people. Their encouragement made me persevere through the toughest moments in academia. However, I learned that I can be a Native scientist without giving up one or the other and it takes a lot of long-term planning and some sacrifices to bring the two worlds together. Here are some of my best tips on how to bridge the divide between two very distinct and important aspects of my life.I have also included recommendations for professors to help them create a welcoming and supportive environment for Native students in science.

1. Know How to Ask for Help

In my freshmen year of college, I was nervous to ask for help on homework. After a lecture, I overheard other students saying they scheduled a meeting with the professor to ask questions or they attended tutoring hours. I decided to copy what other students were doing. Inside I felt behind and stupid for not knowing these things.

From my Native values, I reminded myself that if I needed any assistance, I would turn to an elder for guidance.

I remember walking down the science departments, seeing the closed doors that looked uninviting, and gravitating toward the open doors. In high school, meeting with teachers was different and easier. Entering a professor’s office was much more intimidating! All these questions went through my mind: How soft or fast do I knock? Should I say my name? Do I stand outside until invited in? Do I peek in to see if they are busy? Should I have emailed them beforehand? What time were their office hours? Most professors are friendly and welcoming of students, especially during office hours. I met my chemistry professor, who recommended I take the recitation course offered or join a group-tutoring session. I signed up for recitation and got the extra one-on-one help. I also learned what I needed to do to be successful in his/her class. Fast-forward two years and I became a general chemistry and biochemistry tutor through the on-campus Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Program. I saw myself in these students and told them, “Even people like me asked for help once!”

2. Share Your Culture

During my freshmen year, I found I would explain or share information about Native Americans in courses. It was tough to always be the voice of all Native students, not just of my affiliated tribes — Laguna Pueblo, Acoma Pueblo, and Navajo. I accepted that it wasn’t a choice, but I needed to educate people or debunk stereotypes about my Native cultures. I began to tell students and faculty to “just ask, don’t assume” anything about Native people. Eventually, after many conversations with faculty members in various departments discussing my heritage and beliefs, I felt tremendous relief when I realized that they truly cared about me as a student and not just as a number in their diversity quota. I would recommend that faculty and students be given a short history of Native Americans, specifically local tribes near the institution but also those located throughout the United States. Professors of American Indian Studies departments are a great resource, with information readily available to train faculty and staff.

3. Identify Your Cultural Boundaries

I knew the beliefs and taboos from my Navajo and Pueblo cultures could possibly question my role and future as a scientist. For my zoology course, I was required to dissect various specimens throughout the semester. I needed to figure out how to approach the concept of dissections with myself. I decided I should dissect with the viewpoint to remind myself these specimens were sacred, respected, and honored. I grew up to appreciate their sacrifice to bring me biological knowledge.

I would say my prayers outside behind the biology building on the day of labs.

Someone asked what I was doing before lab standing outside talking to myself, so I explained that I was hesitant about dissecting. I explained that various animals in the Navajo and Pueblo cultures are here on Mother Earth for a reason: some are sacred. Native people regard plants and animals more than just specimens but spirits and living beings. Those sacred ones play a vital role in our traditions and abusing them could cause harm. If students have an issue they should discuss this with the professor. But professors can also create a talking point by putting something in the syllabus about personal beliefs. Cultural beliefs shouldn’t limit individuals in exploring science. When working with relatives (biological specimens), don’t disrespect them and be mindful of how they got to the lab.

4. Bridge Your Systems of Knowledge & Experience

During my organic chemistry lab, when we studied how to identify synthetic and natural dyes, everyone needed to bring in a sample. I brought in a plant my grandmother had used for dying wool naturally. When I told my parents, they scolded me for sharing information about the plant, which was also used as a traditional medicine. I explained that it was only a small sample and I didn’t have to identify the location it was found. I told my professor the limitations on the information I could share about the plant, which he respected. It was refreshing for me to see that the traditional knowledge of my ancestors aligned with chemistry.

I had many epiphanies in my undergraduate courses that would explain the science behind stories or sayings my grandmother would say about weather, plants, the landscape, and animals.

I would recommend that professors see how they could incorporate the heritage and culture of their students in lectures or labs.

Volunteering

5. Stay Involved

I attended graduate school in Boston for six years. Even though there weren’t many Native people at my university, I found a way to keep my holistic values by volunteering in my local inner-city community serving the underserved and minority populations.

The inner-city communities reminded me of the “rez,” and I saw that these non-Native students encountered very similar obstacles even though they were from different cultures and an urban environment.

To a few, I was one of the first Native Americans they had encountered in life. Many of them rarely saw a minority in the STEM field, so it was great to be a role model. Volunteering helped me feel I was giving back to the community I was living in, a natural role for Native individuals.

6. Connect with the Local Native Community

Now as a postdoc, I am in the Midwest with Native people not of my background. One of the first things I did upon arrival was learn about the local tribes and history. Once local Native students and community members saw my interest as genuine, they became very warm and receptive.

A great way to connect with both the campus and local community is to seek out the Native American Center on campus and any community centers in town, and try your best to get involved.

I have become the University of Minnesota-Duluth campus AISES advisor with the hopes of getting a SACNAS chapter started in spring 2015! When students invite me to an event, I do my best to attend. I find that many non-Natives think events are exclusive and that they have to be invited. Unless it is a private ceremonial event, all are generally welcome. I tell folks if they are interested, ask around. The Native American Center, if there is one on campus, is the best place to start.

7. Be Courageous

By and large my experiences have been positive. However, I have regularly encountered micro-aggressions regarding my gender, ethnicity, and age. When these occur, I make a note of them and how I felt because sometimes you can be shocked in the moment.

I refrain from lashing out in a negative manner and try to discuss what was said or inferred with the individual one-on-one.

If the situation is bad, I do report this behavior to someone in the department. Some schools have a system of anonymity. Ultimately, it is crucial to find an ally, and sometimes these allies need to be at a higher level than you. I have learned that I need to stand up for myself to help prevent others from going through what I have gone through. I used to be a shy girl, but realized that if I want my voice to be heard, I must say something.

In the lab.

As I prepare for a future as a tenure-track assistant professor position, I am nervous about the process. The tenure system is difficult with the pressures to perform quality research, secure grants, teach well, and conduct service within the scope of the university or college. Many Native faculty members have to decide which commitments are important enough to be part of their tenure path because these commitments may not be recognized for tenure. Many Native faculty members will find themselves being the only “one” in their department and become the mentor for all Native students and be the representative on Indigenous-related university items and diversity committees. They are asked to balance commitments in a way that non-Native faculty are not.

8. Nurture Your National Network

My best moment at the 2014 SACNAS National Conference was during the discussion period at the end of the presentations in the session, “What Stands in Our Way: Barriers to Diversity and Inclusion.” One of the panelists was pointing to an attendee with a question and said,

“You with the brown hair — wait, that could be a lot of you. This is so great to see so many beautiful brown faces in here.”

That statement clearly showed that the number of minorities is increasing. Each of us face difficulties in academia, but to have a supportive and positive space to cheer each other on is great. SACNAS is one example of networking with those in the same situation. There are plenty of organizations for professionals at all levels and subspecialties. Try to find one to make the connections to talk to others and build the support to survive academia.

It has been a learning process for me to explore and navigate academia. I have learned that you don’t have to hide your cultural upbringing, it can be integrated. You don’t have to live in two worlds.

PhD Hooding Photo credit: Photo by Joshi Radin, reprinted by permission from Winds of Change magazine. Copyright 2014 by AISES Publishing Inc. Lee with mentor Dr. Mary Jo Ondrechen, SACNAS member and former president of AISES.

About Dr. Joslynn Lee

Dr. Joslynn Lee, Laguna Pueblo, Acoma Pueblo, Diné (Navajo,) is a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Minnesota Medical School on the Duluth Campus. She is part of the Native American Faculty Development Program (NAFDP) in the Department of Biomedical Sciences. She earned her PhD in chemistry from Northeastern University in Boston, MA, and her BS in chemistry and cellular & molecular biology from Fort Lewis College in Durango, CO.

Originally published at sacnas.org.

--

--

SACNAS
STEM and Culture Chronicle

Dedicated to advancing Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in science. Science, culture, and community in the movement for true diversity in STEM.