New Book Club at STEM First! Gen.

Faith
STEM First! Gen.
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2021

Hello STEAMers and friends! I have some relatively new news, which has aged for less than a week.

Have a snack…..Photo by Aliona Gumeniuk on Unsplash

Personally, I love to share my experiences and day to day doings. It’s the same reason why I blog, vlog, microblog, micro-vlog, and so forth. About a year ago, I found a place to share my love for literature — that place being Goodreads. One can publicly shelve their books of interest (read or not), write reviews, interact with reviewers, recommend books to friends, make friends, join discussions, ask authors questions, and participate in giveaways, just to name a few.

Fictional reads and non fictional biographies might be some of the genres that come to mind when one opens the Goodreads platform. However, I’ve utilized my book space for both academic and leisurely works. There’s motivation in updating my page progress on the currently reading Stewart’s Calculus, and I’m ever so grateful to have a place for titles that nourish my philosophy of medicine.

There’s also something engaging when it comes to discussing a book of common interest. We do this all the time at The Baskerville Pups. The well organized discussion forums and the notifications for upcoming reads allow members to follow along easily as we go through the very lengthy but insightful Sherlock Holmes Canon. Nevertheless, this boils down to a traditional literature book club, and I return to STEM.

The goal at STEM First! Gen. has always been to unite academic contributors so we can support each other and listen to each other’s unique stories. The idea was to make our passions fun through sharing and writing (or whichever method of creating best suits you). I dream of STEM First! Gen. being like home, where at the end of a long day, we come around the sitting room and talk about the studies and research we did, comforting and congratulating each other (and even lending a hand).

We started off with allowing members to write about their interests, letting them publish to the publication; even though voicing are being heard, posting articles and sharing it on Twitter does not completely achieve our goals. So I decided to make a next step.

Much like a discussion forum, STEM First! Gen. has its own book club! Yes, it’s not like a subreddit or Slack, but we can unite on a friendly platform over two shared interests: academia and books, regardless of genre or concentration.

We have lots of room to sit down and chat. If you have something to share with us, the club is the best place. We also accept book recommendations and suggestions. Members can also befriend each other and invite comrades.

Ultimately, the book club is a welcoming place to wind down! So, what’s more to it? I would like to warmly invite you to our brand-new retreat.

As always, thank you for stopping by; I’m always thrilled to chat with you, dear readers.

--

--