Fictional Characters Make Way for Real Heroes

Monique Faith Boodram
STEM First! Gen.
Published in
6 min readFeb 6, 2021
Photo by Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

Not all kids grew up hearing of the adventures of Marie Curie, or Nikola Tesla. Many kids almost never are exposed to the enthralling breakthroughs made by our predecessors in science, at a very young age. Instead, they are more likely to be consumed by the worlds of Disney princess love stories, Star Wars, super heroes or some other fantastical creation. Children might just be enclosed by the world their elders put in front of them. Doesn’t it sound terrible? Well, not really- at least not for me.

During my early, grade school years, I was rarely moved by the stories of our fathers and founders in science. Yes, biophilia has been encoded in my genes, but motivation did not bloom out of learning about famous biologists quite enough. I was simply dull of inspiration.

That wouldn’t be the same case for fiction, though. Imagine the excitement I came out of the theater with, after Dad took me to see a team of six save Earth from an alien invasion. T’was a team of great minds and mighty powers. Furthermore, one hero is a scientist that turns into a green rage monster, and the other was a science protégé. Dr Banner and Stark were perhaps my new inspirations. A new cause to become a scientist by day- or night - and whenever possible, defeat villains.

Recalling my childhood charms burns my mind. It is difficult to believe that I, the science and academia devotee, once had such immature dreams. Or are they? Is it really immature to want to impact the world by means of science and, realistically speaking, fighting a good fight? I won’t ponder here, there’s more fictional influence approaching.

So, starting at the age of eight, I had sworn myself into the fandom of Marvel’s Avengers. The idea of becoming a so-called superhero eroded however, because the mature side of my preteen brain knew it was clearly impossible. Super solider serum is basically steroids. Gamma radiation is a health risk and killer if one is exposed too long. Agents or spies are actually law enforcement officers. Alien life has not been discovered. But biology, chemistry and physics never is fiction. Science is a reality in our real world and in fictional realities.

One particular thing that struck me was the ability to create these imaginary universes. Before the big screen, these Marvel characters were brought to life on comic book pages by Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko and co. These creators have extraordinary talent, to construct these intricate universes, from cosmic beings and extraterrestrials, to secret societies and opposing law enforcement divisions. Individual, unique characters are made for these comics. Both protagonists and antagonists have their very special features and personalities, making the reading experience memorable. Now I had found something more realistic, and mind-tasking: creative writing.

Around that time, I was just about starting high-school. My writing skills were not the best, and I wanted to improve both creative writing and technical writing. During this period in my life, I also found interest in using film techniques and explanatory skills to share my knowledge of my favorite science concepts. STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Math) grew more prominent inside of me instead of STEM (that’s STEAM, without the Arts… *wink*).

All this being said, I searched for improvement methods, starting with my, at that time, only favorite writer, Stan Lee. On reading Stan’s “How to Write Comics” I heeded to the example he chose to demonstrate how the three act structure worked in writing. That example was the 2009 film Sherlock Holmes, also portrayed by Tony Stark’s (AKA Iron Man) Robert Downey Junior. Sherlock Holmes, eh? I considered revisiting this Victorian era literature, considering my school book list was in need of furnishing.

“Sherlock Holmes was so wonderful. You know, to me he was a real super hero- he could think anything through.” — Stan Lee, Advice for Comic Book Writers and Other Artists, 2014

Sherlock Holmes was my new study. The character’s magnificent powers did baffle me; however, what baffled me even more was how Sir Arthur Conan Doyle managed to get the knowledge for the sleuth’s brain attic. This entire ordeal of grand observations, deductions, and inductions is intriguing! Not.

Sherlock Holmes is a rendition of Sir Doyle’s late medical school professor, Joseph Bell, M.D. We are looking at a character whose influence was based on a medical perspective. Observations, deductions, inductions- are all key to medical diagnosis, just as much as crime detecting. Sherlock Holmes' educational background comes from chemistry, psychology, and many other sciences. Pursuers of medicine follow a similar pattern, learning major science subjects, psychology, and sociology for their medical admissions examination, then they continue their journey into learning more in medical school. Elementary.

So I always followed the right career path, with the wise and open advise of my parents. I also discovered a new passion for solving problems as Sherlock Holmes- or should I say, Dr Bell- would do. A train of film, comics, and writing led me to one of my causes to fulfill a greater purpose.

In some point in time, we give our attention to the entertaining, imaginary parts of life. Stories forever fascinate humankind. It can bring new ideas to our imagination. But it can not be strictly unrealistic. It’s a cycle, where our real life experiences influence the stories we tell, no matter how much we spice them up, or how much superpowers we add to the characters. Then the audience makes their own perspectives.

These perspectives can make inspiration. Of course, every individual finds their inspirations in their own way. I didn’t willingly go on this journey to seek motivation; I found it coincidentally in the most unimaginable places. Fiction returns to reality.

Fiction is a symbol of us. It portrays the positive and negative. It shows us what we can become. It’s only up to the readers, viewers and listeners to be mindful of the messages written inside characters and themes. Fiction can have the same effect as a non-fictional biography, except it not just enhances our reasoning, but it also widens our creative side.

I now indulge in both fiction and nonfiction, and I take the opportunity to appreciate the character arcs and life lessons, which can be learnt in both fables and biographies. I have shaped into my own character, who strives to make her universe better with education, science, and technology, with a spark of creativity.

Returning to my opening paragraph, I do wish that we teach our youth about our great minds more often. Instead of showing them in a traditional, academical way, we can show young students the beauty of the discoveries made and the stories behind these breakthroughs by using the same concept a comic book writer, or a film director would. Enhance the histories. Show them the characters in our figures. These biographies I speak of are not supposed to be jammed inside a page or two found in school textbook as an insider, and then we all move on. If we tell stories of heroes and heroines, why can’t we make the stars of science and history just as exciting? I envision a world where kids are as moved by the determination of Marie Curie just as they are inspired by the willpower of Carol Danvers.

Looks like you’ve reached the end! I hope you enjoyed my small narrative. Cheers!

Personal Blog: Faith’s Microbiome & Tech Blog

Other outposts: @AgentMFaith

--

--

Monique Faith Boodram
STEM First! Gen.

I’m your huckleberry. SHSU student sharing opinions on arrival, leaving my footprint. Sherlockian and SciCommer... and Wodehousian...