I Hosted #SciCommChat

Faith
STEM First! Gen.
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2021
Photo by Trnava University on Unsplash

On the 22nd of September, I had the pleasure of hosting Nidhi Parekh’s #SciCommChat on behalf of my STEM First! Gen. community.

Experienced with making some short, creative science videos, I can affirm myself as a beginner science communicator. Knowledge of scientific concepts can be accompanied by engaging an audience with that knowledge. I’m attracted to this idea because I love making education (my cup of tea is STEM+Medicine edu.) exciting.

If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough. ~Albert Einstein

That’s the theme of science communication! If I study a topic in depth, I might understand it for myself; however, I would never feel satisfied until I’m able to clearly explain it to someone else, especially if I struggled to grasp the concept initially. Why should another struggle like I did, when I can shed some light with ease?

Hosting #SciCommChat created a great opportunity to ask open-ended questions to the science communication community, to hear the aspects of well-experienced science communicators, and to meet and connect with rather welcoming associates. A decision well-made!

Below are the five questions I put together for the discussions, along some highlights.

May I say, the responses were staggering. Shame I can’t put all of ’em here. I am pleased to know that my questions spurred such in-depth discussions. We got know each other more, and also had a wonderful time sharing thoughts and endeavors. It’s a small but valuable achievement, getting to interact with the science communication community during my last year in high school.

--

--