Revisions for the Holidays and New Year

Monique Faith Boodram
STEM First! Gen.
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2021

Thanksgiving just passed us, and I got a chance to mention my friends STEM First! Gen. who contributed their ideas and work to our small community. I would like to address some changes to our submissions section and our outreach statement.

Photo by Ethan Medrano on Unsplash

Firstly, the name could be a bit misleading. STEM First! Gen., was initially aimed towards first generation STEM enthusiasts, all the while maintaining inclusiveness. To me, that’s a bit contradictory. My goals were to share our philosophies for STEAM, regardless of who we are. So, in regards to the submission guidelines, our members are not limited to first generation students — we are always open all STEAM pursuers.

I would also like to take a moment to reiterate our mission statement. I would like to answer the question, “What were you thinking when you created STEM First! Gen.?” (No one asked me that yet, by the way.) It’s for several reasons, actually.

Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

I learned about science communication around the same time the pandemic hit. After a year of practicing SciComm without even knowing, I finally learned about it on #AcademicTwitter. This allowed me to channel my love for the Arts and STEM, but I wish I knew about it sooner.

STEM First! Gen. is about raising STEAM awareness. All articles and stories shared are devoted to reaching a wider audience… the general public if you will.

We have great ideas to share, so we should never limit ourselves. I think it’s just wonderful when we have an opinion, and others can see it and formulate their own opinions on it.

Unfortunately, the door of paid opportunities is closed at STEM First! Gen. On the other hand, we can offer something more abstract and fuzzy inside (not virtual kittens). STEM First! Gen. gets the best out of platforms such as Twitter, LinkedIn, Medium, and Goodreads to support fellow academics. We use Twitter and LinkedIn to connect with and share discussions and opportunities. We use Medium so SciComm writers can get their ideas more exposure, and we use Goodreads as our main forum and place to discuss reading and writing.

I think the best thing about using these social platforms is that we don’t have to go far to meet up and talk about SciComm, SciArt and all the fun stuff. If it’s one thing the pandemic taught me, is we’re just a mention and hashtag away… thank you technology.

Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

So this brings me to wonder what exactly I revised.

I removed the emphasis on “first gen” members only, and would like to add that we are open to suggestions for ways to open our network of science communicators. For example, our Goodreads book club is a way to share science books and articles. Our new LinkedIn group is also underway, and by the time I post this, the article “Welcome to the STEM First! Gen.,” will be removed from our submissions page. I also hope to maybe get a YouTube and/or Instagram to share SciArt posts! Who knows… oh I got a Link Tree for us.. here it is: https://linktr.ee/stemfirstgen

Always feel free to review the submission guidelines below, submit to our form (in the submission’s article), and/or DM us (@stemfirstgen) on Twitter (and all the other social media places)!

Photo by Erik Gazi on Unsplash

Until a new post, I’d like to wish you a very Happy Holidays in advance! Keep creating, keep thinking, keep doing! ~MB

--

--

Monique Faith Boodram
STEM First! Gen.

I’m your huckleberry. SHSU student sharing opinions on arrival, leaving my footprint. Sherlockian and SciCommer... and Wodehousian...