The Brain and Gut Connection

Taking care of your gut is more important than you think

Dr. Gabriella Korosi
Stepping Toward Health
5 min readSep 28, 2021

--

Photo by Josh Riemer on Unsplash

Taking care of our gut is not something we think about in our daily life.

When everything is going smoothly, we tell ourselves that our body is functioning well. Issues start to arise when we feel bloated, when we’re gaining or losing weight, feel tired or uncomfortable. Heartburn kicks in and we try multiple medications to control our stomach so we can feel better.

These symptoms frequently occur because we are having problems with our gut. When the gut does not work well, nothing else does.

Our gut is our second brain.

On a personal note, I had my gallbladder removed a few years back and it changed my life. But not is a good way. I wish I had known how important it was to keep your gallbladder healthy and what foods to avoid. For me, it was too late. Maybe it is not too late for you to save your gut.

Now, I have to be very careful what I eat as my body is missing an essential part to break down fats efficiently. Once your gallbladder is out, there isn’t any control of the digestive enzymes — they are slowly dripping. This can make digestion difficult. I take additional supplements to help my digestion.

--

--

Dr. Gabriella Korosi
Stepping Toward Health

"HI" Writer, Author,Publisher,creator of connections, spreading positivity. Health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. Building Community.