Carlos Gonzalez — Developer

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog
3 min readAug 24, 2022

Tell me more about your role within StepStone!
I am a developer in the system engineer team where we do a little of everything. We are mainly focusing on the candidate profile page, making small changes, fixes, you name it. So, both front-end and back-end.

Can you walk me through from the moment you wake up until you are at the office?
It depends a little bit on when I go to bed the evening before, but I normally wake up around 6:00 am and start the day with some exercise and breakfast and take a shower. At the moment I am working from home most of the days. So, when I am finished with my morning routines I go to my computer and start my working day. When I go to the office, I normally take the bus and it takes approximately 1 hour. I would like to bike because it would take only 30 minutes but at the moment it is dangerous to bike in San Salvador due to traffic.

What is your favorite thing about being a developer?
For me, it is always to understand the details of how things work. I mean I really enjoy talking to businesses and then making their thoughts/requirements come to life and being part of that process, making their thoughts/requirements come to life, and being.

What would be the one advice you would give yourself when you first became a developer?
Don’t do everything by the book when programming. Be creative and have fun.

What are your productivity hacks?
For me, I need a calm place where I don’t have too many visual distractions. I have ADHD and I get very easily distracted. I also need to take small breaks every 15 minutes or so. Just do something else for a minute or so.

What is the best advice someone has given you?
Being an adult is the ability to act like a child, a teenager, or an adult in the right situations. You do not need to be an adult all the time but perhaps, act like a child when I program sometimes to explore and learn new things, or being more of a teenager rebel to really push the boundaries etc. I got this advice from some people in the church, and it really helps me.

How do you prioritize what’s on your “Learn Next” list?
I think like most people I prioritize first things that I need to learn because of work and then things that are related to it but not necessary at the moment but it will broaden my knowledge.

What was the last thing you ate? Cereals with milk and banana

Windows Mac or Linux? Linux

Coffee soft drink or tea? Tea

Summer or winter? Winter

Read more about The Stepstone Group, the technologies we use or take an inside look at our organisation & processes. Interested in joining us? Check out our careers page.

--

--

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog

Magnus is a person that loves to connect with people. If it is through technology, it is even better.