Celebrating success the StepStone way

Lena Hoff
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog
3 min readAug 19, 2022

I had the pleasure of being nominated for StepStone’s 2022 #BetterTogether summer incentive. This nomination brought me to wonderful Tuscany.

The trip was truly unforgettable, and I’d love to share some insights with you.

The first I’d like to highlight is that this trip would have been nothing without the great people I met and shared the experience with!

Within my almost 7 years with StepStone my biggest motivation has always been the great people I work with. The company’s growth of the last years let the StepStone family become bigger and bigger, and I was starting to miss pieces in my big StepStone puzzle. Having the opportunity to meet and connect with so many people from across the globe and businesses in Tuscany was amazing and helped me to add the missing pieces. StepStone isn’t what it was 7 years ago. The way that led towards today’s state hasn’t always been easy with all its changes and challenges, but the constant has and continues to be our community of kind, supportive and fun people!

Talking about great people at StepStone it’s no surprise that our group of 75 StepStoners quickly connected and grew to be “la grande famiglia” (our trips motto). Our 4 days in Tuscany were packed with fun activities and a lot of time to simply relax, enjoy great traditional Italian cuisine, and take in the beautiful landscape around us.

My personal highlights have been our delicious gala dinner in the magnificent garden of the Villa Oliva Buonvisi accompanied by three tenors, the cooking class in Michelin-starred ‘Butterfly’ restaurant, and the family dinner accompanied by the spontaneous guitar jam session including a wonderful interpretation of Sting’s “Every breath you take” by two of my colleagues.

That all my highlights somehow go with food must be related to the fantastic cuisine Tuscany has to offer 😊

StepStone offers a variety of options to celebrate success and give recognition to individuals or teams. Having experienced the #BetterTogether incentive I must say that this is probably the greatest form of recognition you as an individual can get. It expressly underlined my belief in StepStone being a great company to work for and proved to me that having staying power by continuously adapting to change and fight through unpleasant und uncomfortable times pays off in the end. I believe that my attitude to see a chance in every change I experienced within StepStone is what it comes down to when considering what brought me to a nomination for the #BetterTogether incentive. All the changes came with new products, people and processes I had to get familiar with. Although it has been exhausting from time to time, looking back, I’m happy for every change since these changes provided me with the possibility to continue growing professionally and personally.

Looking back at the past 7 years at StepStone, I’m happy to have met so many great people within StepStone. Their kindness, trust, support, empathy and from time-to-time push into the right direction kept me motivated and allowed me to develop and grow.

Great people make a great place to work!

Read more about the technologies we use or take an inside look at our organisation & processes. Interested in joining us? Check out our careers page.

--

--