Elisabeth Wetchy — Full Stack developer

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog
3 min readJan 27, 2023

Tell me more about your role within Stepstone!
I’m part of a team working with CV and profile. We are looking into two streams of work right now: One focus is to switch some legacy apps from the current UK application datastore over to a new one, and the other is to run experiments to find out how we can get to know users better that we otherwise don’t know much about, and hopefully use what we learned to make our site more useful for them.

Can you walk me through from the moment you wake up until you are at the office?
I try to get up early as I like to spend time in the mornings but it kind of depends. Nowadays I normally get up around 7–7:30, which I guess isn’t that early. I then go down the stairs to feed my cats and make myself a cup of coffee. When I am ready, I jump in my car, and it is about half an hour drive to get to the office. Once there, I grab a coffee voucher and go to the canteen to get it.

What is your favourite thing about being a developer?
The challenge. It is like solving a puzzle. You have something you want to achieve and there are so many ways of getting there. So finding the right pieces that I need in order to solve the task is what I enjoy.

What would be the one piece of advice you would give yourself when you first became a developer?
Don’t worry so much about understanding everything straight away. I was the only junior developer when I started and I was working with three senior developers and of course, with their knowledge and experience, they had a different horizon than mine. But that is ok, and you should not worry about it.

What are your productivity hacks?
I need to have silence around me, and I am also a big fan of the Pomodoro technique. So, if I really need to get something done and I need to motivate myself I tell myself it is only 25 minutes I need to focus. That really makes me productive.

What is the best advice someone has given you?
Anything that is worth doing, is worth doing badly. I mean you can’t get good at something without being bad at it.

What was the last thing you ate? It was a chili cheeseburger

Windows Mac or Linux? Windows

Coffee soft drink or tea? Coffee

Summer or winter? Winter

Read more about The Stepstone Group, the technologies we use or take an inside look at our organisation & processes. Interested in joining us? Check out our careers page.

--

--

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog

Magnus is a person that loves to connect with people. If it is through technology, it is even better.