Tomasz Skorupka — Senior DevOps Engineer

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog
2 min readSep 26, 2022

Tell me more about your role within Stepstone!
I am today part of a team that is responsible for the infrastructure. You can say that I am creating different tools to speed up the developer’s work building applications. It could be tools to create a repository for the code or to connect the various parts of an application. Basically, anything that would speed up the developer’s work.

Can you walk me through from the moment you wake up until you are at the office?
I find it difficult to wake up in the morning and not always wake up when my alarm goes off at 8:30 am. But when I get up the first thing I do is that I take a shower. This is important to me to wake up and if I for whatever reason cannot take a shower in the morning my day is not up for a good start. When ready I go to my garage and jump on my motorcycle and drive to the office. The first thing I do, at the office, is to catch up with my colleagues if there is something new or interesting. Then I am ready to start my day.

What is your favorite thing about being a developer?
It has been my dream to become a developer since my dad brought the first PC home in 1995. You can say that I am now living my dream. For me, it is all about creating stuff and especially if it solves a real-world problem. Therefore, to me, it is also to connect with the stakeholder. I really love that.

What would be the one advice you would give yourself when you first became a developer?
Finnish read the whole documentation and make sure to document the things you do as well. Also write your code so it is understandable. It is important to do that to get a deeper understanding and I wish that I were stricter with that in the early days.

What are your productivity hacks?
I always try to divide larger tasks into smaller ones and change focus if I get stuck by doing something else.

What is the best advice someone has given you?
My mom gave me the best advice through a gift. She gave me a journal and told me to explore and stay curious.

What was the last thing you ate? Chicken with buckwheat groats and cauliflower
Windows, Mac, or Linux? All of them
Coffee soft drink or tea? Coffee
Summer or winter? Both

--

--

Magnus Olofsson
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog

Magnus is a person that loves to connect with people. If it is through technology, it is even better.