Woman in tech — Elena’s story

Elena Ackovska
the-stepstone-group-tech-blog
3 min readApr 12, 2023

Being part of the digital world as a woman was the best choice I have made in my professional life. My story is a little different, and I am happy to share it with you.

Øredev conference 2022

It all started 3 years ago when I moved to Sweden together with my family. I was at a crossroad to decide my career path, whether to continue and develop my (in that time current professional background in law) or to completely switch career, start from scratch and become part of the tech world. And before I continue, let me quickly introduce myself.

Long story short, my name is Elena, I come from North Macedonia, and I have bachelor’s degree in law. When I moved to Sweden, I decided to switch my career and started learning web development. Starting something for the first time is always challenging, but I thought that was the best and the fastest way to integrate in the Swedish society.

I started learning by myself, taking some courses on Udemy and YouTube, practicing every day by doing some small projects that helped me sharpen my coding skills. But the self-education was not enough. I applied for a program (course) here in Malmo, that was offering the newcomers in Sweden a course to become a full stack web developer. It was a one-year course, covering in-depth front end and back-end technologies as well. After successfully finishing the course, I started building my own projects and I also built my portfolio page where I put all my projects. That helped me a lot, because through my portfolio page I could show my coding skills to the potential employers.

And after some time looking for a job where I can start my tech career, I ended up here in Stepstone, the company with a mission to find the right job for everyone. I started the journey here, in a friendly environment with coworkers that are passionate about their job, want to learn and share the knowledge and always provide extra value for both (company and for personal growth). Being part of a global international company, that values diversity and professional development, helped me grow professionally, but also as a person.

From my perspective, as a woman, being part of an industry that is constantly changing and evolving is quite challenging, but it also offers a lot of opportunities. This industry requires constant change, learning new technologies and following the latest trends in this field. But also, being a woman in tech means being part of a community of problem solvers, idea-dreamers and virtual builders that are constantly searching for new knowledge. But that’s what keeps us driven and engaged.

So, let’s continue to support and empower women and work toward an even more inclusive and diverse digital future for all of us.

Read more about The Stepstone Group, the technologies we use or take an inside look at our organisation & processes. Interested in joining us? Check out our careers page.

--

--