birthdaystravaganza

I’m trying not to ramble so much anymore. Birthdaystravaganza is three nights, three shows, one great concert buddy.

So, in brief: Tomorrow is The Music of Neil Young at Carnegie Hall. No, I don’t believe Mr. Neil Young himself is scheduled to make an appearance, but if he does, I will be flipping out appropriately. Or inappropriately. In any case, I’ve never been to Carnegie Hall, I love Neil Young’s music, I love seeing legendary people like Patti Smith and Aaron Neville, and I also love Jakob Dylan.

Friday is Rhett Miller at Infinity Hall, which is kind of the opposite of the previous night’s show. Just Rhett (Swett) and his guitar (as far as I know) in a tiny venue in the boonies of Connecticut. I’ve never been to this place but heard it’s well worth the drive. Especially because we’ll be in the front row. Pack the raincoats.

Saturday is The Valentine’s Day Brawl with Josh Ritter & The Royal City Band at Terminal 5. He is always a treat to see, simply for the pure joy he exudes performing, but this show is particularly special. It’s on my birthday itself. He’s doing dedications. And there will be scarves for sale.

The snowstorm that initially appeared in the extended forecast and then decided to go out to sea just might be the first lucky thing that winter has given me this year, but it’s a wonderful birthday present. We have clear, cold skies for birthdaystravaganza. Let’s do it.

--

--