blathering recaps — Sept. and Oct. 2010

Some recent shows, in all their rambling glory:

Sept. 13: I went to see Vampire Weekend in the gorgeous outdoor setting of Mountain Park on a just-beginning-to-get-cool fall evening. Dum Dum Girls and Beach House opened. In the course of familiarizing myself with the openers pre-show, I started to fall in love with Beach House’s sound, and as soon as they took the stage, I was mesmerized. I think their music has been described as “dream pop.” It’s lush and gorgeous yet stark and dark. (Yes, this is why I am a journalist, but not a music journalist! I know what I like listening to; I just can’t really capture it in words.) And they have these visually nifty glowing pyramids on stage.

Anyway, Vampire Weekend was just about as high-energy and enjoyable as you’d expect. Their musical skillzzzz are quite impressive, too. I know hipsters don’t like them anymore, and then more mainstream people still dismiss them as “stupid indie kids,” but the show was excellent, they have enthusiasm (which is more than you can say for most trendyindie bands), and their snob-prep lyrical bent is endearing. I’d gladly go see ’em again. The surprising part was the crowd. Fawning, squealing pre-teens everywhere! Is it because they have “vampire” in their name? Is the lead singer supposed to be hot? I guess I’m old.

Sept. 30: I went into NY at the last minute to see fun. with a friend who had obtained free tickets. I like free things. I like New York. I like music. I hadn’t seen in her in a while. So, a no-brainer, really, especially when the boss gave me the go-ahead to take the next day off.

Anyway, fun. can really only be described as fun. Okay, they can also be described as energetic, creative, free-wheelin’, exuberant rainbows of… fun. The lyrics under all the layers of big dramatic horns and strings and harmonies are actually rather dark (a la Mika, for instance), which adds an interesting complexity. The crowd was great (despite the show’s being located in Hipsterville), singing along and dancing and having a rockin’ ol’ time, which gave the night a great vibe. This was also my magic concert #100. YAY!

Oct. 18: I saw Jenny and Johnny at Toad’s Place (my first show there, believe it or not) in New Haven. Unfortunately, it was during the week, I was pretty tired, and it was a bit of a long drive. So I sat at the bar during the opener, Happy Birthday, which reminded me of some band at the time, but now I can’t even remember. They were loud and not particularly memorable. J&J, however, were wonderful. Okay, mostly Jenny. I think I’ve mentioned before that I should probably be listing my orientation as “straight, except when Jenny Lewis is on stage.” Or, psychologically speaking, perhaps I just wish I could have little bit of that self-confident ‘tude.

I think their album is getting a lot of hate from longtime fans of Rilo Kiley, etc., and it is a different sound. It reminds me of both the Matthew Sweet/Susanna Hoffs albums and the Raveonettes, with the dark-ish sound and guitar fuzziness. It’s great on CD, but those harmonies are even better live. All in all, another fantastic show and well worth the drive. Thanks once again to the boss for letting me come in late the next day.

Oct. 23: I saw Josh Ritter in Northampton. I know, you think you’ve heard this story before. This was the show I’d bought my front-row ticket for back in June or something.

The show, predictably, was wonderful. (Did I use that adjective yet? It’s getting hard to add some variety in here.) Highlights included one of my favorites, “Me & Jiggs,” which I’m not sure I’ve ever heard him perform live. (Fun fact: I can play that one on the guitar!) and all my usual favorites, including “Empty Hearts” and “Right Moves.” Some people tried to duplicate the glowsticks-during-“Lantern” thing, but it wasn’t the full theater, and it’ll never compare to the Magic Moment in Tarrytown when that was done for the first time.

Oh, right! Opening band Winterpills was very, very good. This was the second time in a couple weeks that I wound up getting really into the opener. They have a haunting country-folk sound with beautiful harmonies. I immediately bought their music after returning home.

Oct. 24: I saw Jakob Dylan at City Winery, one of my favorite venues. (And, needless to say, one of my favorite artists.) Much like Josh Ritter, he had gotten the memo to do all my favorite songs, so he broke out classics like “How Good It Can Get” (sounded really different with the new band, in a much-improved sorta way) and even my all-time favorite, “I’ve Been Delivered.” That song, friends, is an experience. There was a famous fiddler (whose name is escaping at the moment) joining them at this show, which added a whole new level of sonic interesting-ness.

Teddy Thompson opened the show with some good singer-songwriter fare and witty banter. I discovered afterward that he is, in fact, the son of Richard and Linda Thompson, which made illuminated Mr. Dylan’s wry joke about the opener’s lineage and how he must have it easy.

I had tickets to go to the show the next night, but (and this may shocker long-timers), I did not go at the end. The show the previous night had been great, and I felt like I’d already gotten everything I possibly could’ve asked for. I’d gotten home close to 3 a.m. and felt my sleep cycle already getting thoroughly thrown out of whack. I’d already bought the ticket, but I’d need to spend more money to get in there, eat, etc.

At the last minute, I decided I was being crazy (“this is Jakob. Dylan. we’re talking about”) and tried to make a run for it. Train was scheduled to leave at 6:32. I raced around, checked the schedule once again… and the train was actually at 6:23. There was no way I would make it. Maybe temporary dyslexia, maybe a sign…

(Of course, I read a few days later that Rami — former Wallflowers keyboardist — had joined them on stage that night. Figures. After all my “I’ve gotten everything; there’s nothing else he could possibly break out” philosophizing.)

--

--