A Depressed Hero

The fictional boy who shaped a generation

Kayla Claussen
Sterling College
2 min readOct 12, 2020

--

photo by Leonardo Yip sourced from unsplash

He’d met plenty of scary demigods,
but he was starting to realize that Nico di Angelo
as pale and gaunt as he looked
might be more than he could handle.
He scowled at Jason.
“And please, I don’t like being touched.
Don’t ever grab me again.

Please tell me your master isn’t Aeolus.”
No, of course not.”
“He means Eros.” Nico’s voice turned edgy.
Nico, you can do this,” Jason said.
“It might be embarrassing, but it’s for the scepter.”
Nico didn’t look convinced.
In fact he looked like he was going to be sick.
“You’re right. I- I’m not afraid of a love god.”

Think long and hard about how you proceed, Nico di Angelo.
You cannot lie to Cupid.
If you let your anger rule you… well,
your fate will be even sadder then mine.
I had a crush on Percy,” Nico spat.
“That’s the truth. That’s the big secret.
“I don’t feel that way anymore,” Nico muttered.
“I mean… I gave up on Percy.
I was young and impressionable,

Jason could tell the guy was about to get teary-eyed.
Whether Nico had really given up on Percy or not,
Jason couldn’t imagine what it had been like for Nico all those years,
keeping a secret that
would’ve been unthinkable to share in the 1940s,
denying who he was,
feeling completely alone-
even more isolated than other demigods.

“Nico,” he said gently,
“I’ve seen a lot of brave things.
But what you did?
That was maybe the bravest.”

--

--