Choosing God

Alyssa Mason
Sterling College
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2020

My Faith in a God That is Constantly Good and Never Changing

Photo by Joshua Earle (Unsplash)

Ever since I can remember, I have always believed in God. My entire family is centered around God so there isn’t a time that I can recall where I just didn’t believe. My entire life growing up it was always “God” this and “God” that; although I appreciate my family for exposing me to it, I sometimes wonder what my life would have been like if I had never heard the name of God so much growing up. I used to think about it all the time when I was younger just because I wanted to know what it would have been like to ask someone “who is this Jesus guy and why is he so popular”.

My faith in God is honestly the only thing that keeps me going sometimes. It’s like if nothing in my life was going right, then at least I had God who was constantly good and never changing. I feel like if I didn’t have my faith in God I’d honestly have nothing and feel like a sailor on a ship without a compass or map. I’d just be floating out at sea not really knowing where to even begin. I can remember this one time listening to my grandmother, who’s room is right next to mine, talking about her faith as she was trying to explain it to her sister, my aunt Rea.

“What if when you die, you find out none of it was real?” she asked my grandmother.

“Well I honestly wouldn’t be mad or anything. Nothing that I have done or have been through has caused me to regret anything. I lived a good life and I loved the life that I have lived. So if it all turns out to be fake, that wouldn’t make me mad at all.” she replied

I sat there in awe of what she just said. It really opened my eyes and made me think about how there really aren’t any consequences from just believing in God. If He’s real, then He’s real and if He’s not, then He’s not. It’s kind of like asking yourself “what do I have to lose?”

In my belief, God has chosen everyone in the entire world to believe in Him. To some, like me, it’s from the day they can understand and comprehend whatever adults tell them. However, to others like Laura in Miller’s book, it may not come until a lot later in life. Everyone is different so everyone will have a different time frame in when they come to Him. It’s not when He chooses you but when you chose Him.

--

--